Skip main navigation

What Homeowners Have to Say About Lennar

Lennar has reputation for building quality new construction homes. Their satisfied homeowners give them an average rating of 3.8 stars for their beautiful floor plans and affordable upgrades, their skilled craftsmanship, and commitment to customer service on each house they build. You can read all of Lennar’s 3276 homeowner reviews to learn why they are the right team to build your new home.

3.8 out of 5 stars
in all areas

star-rating

3276 Reviews - 1087 Communities

5 ★(1488)

4 ★(633)

3 ★(507)

2 ★(300)

1 ★(348)

Quality 3.7

Trustworthiness 3.8

Value 4

Responsiveness 3.8

star-rating i got buyers remorse , Lennar cuts whatever they can for couple of bucks,.

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Tommy S.
  • Miami Lakes, FL
  • March 26, 2020

material they use is cheap and substandard. for example the counter tops and sinks in the bathrooms get stains easy and you can not take it out. a mango on the counter made a stain that is permanent. spices used in cooking around the stove made stains that can not be removed. no toilet or towel holders installed , you pay over 600k and as soon as you move in you have to hire a handyman. i see a lot of people gut their brand new house and change a lot of stuff in their new home before they move in. as i said cheap. they are putting lipstick on a pig and calling it a runway model. so sad. ... More

Lennar responded:
Hi Tommy, thank you for your feedback about your new home. We are sorry to hear about the issues you've had. Please email us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any outstanding items, so we can research and follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Not a reliable builder to depend on for one’s dream home

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Rama M.
  • Charlotte, NC
  • March 24, 2020

Not a realizable builder to construct your dream home. Lennar is not responsive and still there are preclosig items pending even after 5 months of closing .

Lennar responded:
Hi Rama, thank you for sharing your comments about your new home buying experience. We are sorry to hear about the outstanding issues you mentioned. Please email us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any outstanding items or additional details, so we can follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Lennar - Terrible sales staff and also construction managers that don’t

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Winter Garden, FL
  • March 24, 2020

Terrible sales staff and also construction managers that don’t value customers opinion and only are concerned about closing the house despite apparent issues and corners being cut.

Lennar responded:
Thank you for sharing your comments about our sales and construction teams. We are sorry to hear about the issues you described. Please email us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any outstanding items, so we can research and follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Awful experience purchasing.

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Robert L.
  • Manhattan, IL
  • March 17, 2020

Awful experience from the rushed closing to dealing with their financing. We almost walked away. Ask around the developments prior to putting down a deposit.

Lennar responded:
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. I'm sorry to hear you ran into some difficulties during closing. I would like to review your sales experience further and have management address the situation. Please send us an email to corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with your experience, contact information and home address. ... More

star-rating Not worth the hassle

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Joliet, IL
  • March 17, 2020

I love they layout of this home, exactly what I dreamed of. Everything else is awful. The quality, materials and workmanship is beyond terrible. Problems with every square inch! Looking into a lawsuit at this time.

Lennar responded:
Thank you for your comments about the workmanship in your new home. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience. Please email us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com if you would like to provide any additional detail, so we can follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Lack of communication

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Gold Canyon, AZ
  • March 04, 2020

Not so much a pleasant experience. Communication with sales rep was non existent, but called only when they needed something done on their end. Construction manager rushed us through our walkthrough and didn’t let us talk about the cosmetic issues we found and even insulted my wife calling her picky. ... More

Lennar responded:
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for the difficulties you described with your sales rep and construction manager. Please email us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com if there are any items needing to be addressed and we will follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating 2nd Rate Workmanship w/UNACCEPTABLE Customer Service

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Boynton Beach, FL
  • March 04, 2020

Straight to the point 1. POOR Communication 2. 2nd rate workmanship (sloppy work, stain where there shouldn't be, carpet not tacked down properly and cut short of baseboards, clean your house before you move in paint, dust, and caulking everywhere. Be the person who points out every tiny little thing, if you don't you will spend months trying to get it corrected. 3. ZERO follow through on walk thru issues (6 months and I still have blue tape and work not complete) If it wasn't for my continuous follow-up nothing would have gotten done. As a first time homebuyer shocked at the lack of explanation, due diligence no contact from anyone until my many requests for a return call or pushing to get things done. ... More

Lennar responded:
Thank you for your feedback about your home. We are sorry to hear about the various difficulties you described. We hope your items have been addressed, but please email us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com if there are any outstanding items and we will follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Terrible Quality

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Caitlyn M.
  • Riverview, FL
  • March 04, 2020

Lennar focuses on quantity rather than quality! I moved in my new home in September and have had nothing but issues! I would never recommend a Lennar home to anyone.

Lennar responded:
Hi Caitlyn, thank you for your feedback about your home. We are sorry to hear about the issues you described and we hope things have improved. Please email us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com if there are items needing to be addressed and we will follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Very disappointed

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Nelson 2.
  • Lakewood Ranch, FL
  • February 26, 2020

Lennare has repeatedly dropped the ball. They have not done anything that told us they would do when we bought. We closed in good faith, because they agreed to to fix avery long list of problems with our home. They have made excusses, take short cuts, tried to misslead us. Overall I have no trust or confidence that they do business with honor. I would never recomend them to anyone! ... More

Lennar responded:
Hi Jeffrey, thank you for your feedback about your experience. We are sorry to hear about these difficulties and we truly hope things have improved. Please send us a message at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com if there are any outstanding items and we will research and follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Home

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Jean H.
  • Orlando, FL
  • January 26, 2020

Home was promised in March. It was not delivered unitl the end of May. At the end of the quarter ( so it would look good on financials). A week prior to closing, we completed the home walk with lennar rep. 3 full pages of damaged items, inop equipment, broken tub and tile. Day of closing (7 days later) nothing was done. Some Repairs were done but here we are 8 months later, im still waiting for the last 4 items to be completed. NO SENSE OF URGENCY SINCE THEY ALREADY HAVE MY MONEY! ... More

Lennar responded:
Hi Jean, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We apologize for the quality issues and closing delay you experienced. Please send us a note at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any outstanding issues and we will follow up with management for you. - Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating We’re still waiting for our 30 walk though and we moved to our home in May!

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Kristoffer S.
  • Phoenix, AZ
  • November 25, 2019

Lots of our concern were not address and still waiting for answer

star-rating No focus on quality

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Gambrills, MD
  • July 30, 2019

Quality is lacking from product to people at Lennar. They rush you to sign documents without explaining what you are getting that differs from the model. The sales people are rude and will tell you whatever they need to in order to get you in the house. This company and its people have no integrity. ... More

Lennar responded:
Thank you for sharing your comments about your experience. We are sorry to hear about the difficulties you had. Please send any outstanding items to us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com, so we can review and follow-up. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Poor!!

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Woodbury, MN
  • July 30, 2019

Poor timeliness when responding to issues. Poor communication with new homebuyers. Delay in getting all issues fixed/completed. Overall, would not recommend!

Lennar responded:
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear about the difficulties you have had. Please feel free to send a message with any outstanding items to us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com, so we can review and follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Horrible home buying experience

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Camilo L.
  • Doral, FL
  • July 25, 2019

Instead of being an exciting process, it was a headache due to lack of professionalism and business ethics. I had to get my attorneys involved that cost my an arm and a leg. I do not recommend doing business with Lennar. And everyone in my condo went through similar experiences and have the worst reviews about their experience too. Reading reviews on their social media will give you a better flavor of how unethical they are. ... More

Lennar responded:
Hi Camilo, thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are sorry to hear about your experience. Please let us know if there are any outstanding items that we can address for you. Our email is corporatecustomercare@lennar.com. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Lennar - There was dishonesty from salesman and lenders

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Sonia M.
  • Harmans, MD
  • July 19, 2019

There was dishonesty from salesman and lenders

Lennar responded:
Hi Sonia, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you had difficulties with your purchase. Please send any additional details to us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com, so we can follow-up on this matter. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Poor follow thru after sale

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Gary K.
  • Buford, GA
  • July 17, 2019

My home wasn’t ready prior to close. They had approximately 30 items on the checklist that needed to be addressed and corrected prior to close. I already sold my other home and needed to move. I had movers lined up to do so after I closed on my Lennar home. They asked me to close even know they were not close to complete and asked me for 3 additional days to finish the items we agreed to that were on my list to close. I should of trusted my better judgment & not close until the work had been completed. I closed & ended up moving into an unfinished incomplete home. They changed builders 3 times. It took 5 months to get them to come back out to complete the items. I had blue tape on the inside and outside of my home for those 5 months calling once a week to try to get them out. I had to go through warrantee, which didn’t make sense. Their reason was because I had already closed. They broke their promises & made it really difficult to get them back in. I ended up doing a lot of things myself. The 3rd builder that was supposed to handle the checklist claimed that he knew nothing about my list & was there to build the new homes. My home wasn’t on his list. He told me that I had to take the items of concern up with warrantee. The warrantee guy was not reliable & seemed to jerk me around. Most of the neighbors felt the same way and had very similar experiences. The sales folks & builders seemed to be on a revolving door. Continuous shell game. Love my location & home since I have gotten things fixed & adressed mainly from outside contractors & work myself. Very disappointed with Lennar and them allowing their employees to represent them in this manner. Most of the items would have been common sense solutions. They just had to touch things 3 & 4 times instead of taking pride in their work to do it right the 1st time. The painters & Sheetrock guys were approximately 90% of the problem. They seemed to be Day labors. Gary K ... More

Lennar responded:
Hi Gary, thank you for bringing these items to our attention. We are sorry for the difficulties you experienced. Please send any outstanding items to us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com, so we can review and follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Disappointed

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Nakita H.
  • Wimauma, FL
  • July 17, 2019

I feel the homes finishing was rushed and small important details overlooked and the KNOWOLOGY group is the worst. Slim to no response to resolve issues and lack of info and guidance

Lennar responded:
Hi Nakita, thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience. We're sorry to hear about these difficulties. Please send any outstanding items to corporatecustomercare@lennar.com, so we can follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Lennar - Look elsewhere.

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Tampa, FL
  • July 16, 2019

Look elsewhere.

Lennar responded:
Thank you for your feedback. Please feel free to contact us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any items outstanding, so we can review and follow-up. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating I would re consider after all said and done

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Laurel, MD
  • July 12, 2019

After the reviews, service went down the drain.

Lennar responded:
Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear about the service you've received. Please send a message to us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any outstanding items, so we can follow-up and review them for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Poor customer service

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Laura W.
  • Elizabeth, CO
  • June 19, 2019

The team was great before the purchase of my home . After I moved in I have had multiple issues which are not addressed in a timely fashion . The quality of the work is poor and after being in my home for 4 months still have issues.

Lennar responded:
Thank you for your feedback about your new home, Laura Ann. Will you please send a message to us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any outstanding issues? We would like to review and follow-up for you. ... More

star-rating Lack of quality in workmanship and materials.

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Venice, FL
  • April 27, 2021

Buyer beware. Lennar hired substandard contractors. Problems since we closed.

Lennar responded:
Hi, thank you for this review. We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with the workmanship and quality of finishes for your new home. If there are any items you have that need further attention please reach out to us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com. - Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Low quality/Failed QC

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Thomas P.
  • Lancaster, SC
  • April 27, 2021

The day of move in/closing, my wife ran the dishwasher to clean some new dishes purchased. About 15 min into the cycle we smell something burning, open the dishwasher to find the sprayer was improperly installed, fell over and caught fire on the heating element. We immediately sent in the warranty claim, to which we were told this is through the applicable manufacturer. After 3 weeks without resolution Lennar finally stepped up and replaced the dishwasher. Now we are about 6 months in the home, I have hardwood floors splitting down the center of planks. I brought in the flooring manufacturer independently of lennar after the last experience and was told the issue is either the slab cracking and separating due to lack of vapor barrier or proper reinforcement, or the fact the flooring was not acclimated to the space/installed in a conditioned space per manufacturers guidelines. I have held off submitting the lennar warranty claim as almost weekly another crack or buckle presents itself. I will be submitting the warranty claim with the expectation of full replacement. On top of all this we had the worst QC experience ever, as the guy who walked us through basically told us that we weren’t allowed to point out defect issues and he’d catch all of them. Upon acceptance not one of the 10+ items identified were even addressed. Almost daily I find additional qc issues throughout the home. Lennar is just another fly by night track builder spitting out sub par quality homes, without care for the longevity of the product they produce. ... More

Lennar responded:
Hi Thomas, thank you for taking the time to leave us this detailed review. We are extremely disappointed to hear about the issues you have described with the installation and ongoing issues with your flooring. Please send us a note at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com, so we can follow-up on these issues with the local team for you. - Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Lack of quality of workmanship. Sub contractors are sub standard. Construction manager was either fired or quit. Lennar needs to care about the customer.

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Kevin S.
  • Lakewood Ranch, FL
  • April 25, 2021

Make sure you get a home inspection. Do not close until the cleaning company does a satisfactory job. Subcontractors need to take pride in their work.

Lennar responded:
Hi Kevin, thank you for taking time to leave a review. We would like to apologize for the issues you have experienced including the final quality and inconsistent management you have detailed in your review. Please reach out to us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com, if there are any items you would like us to follow-up on for you. - Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Lack of communication and willingness to do your job

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Brian F.
  • Converse, TX
  • April 22, 2021

Don't buy from lennar. They won't do anything.

Lennar responded:
Hi Brian, thank you for sharing your review. We apologize for the lack of communication you have experienced. We would like to follow-up on any issues you have faced, along with any outstanding items requiring attention. Please send us a note at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com, with any details you wish to provide, so we can follow-up. - Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Very stressful from start to finish. I closed in early March and still don't have a working dishwasher.

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Rika J.
  • Lancaster, SC
  • April 17, 2021

Find another builder! Buying a home from Lennar has been one the most stressful things I've ever experienced. If I had it to do over, I would not use a builder as large as Lennar. I would do my homework and I'd use a smaller company with a good reputation. My home closed in early March 2021, it's mid-May and I still don't have a working dishwasher. That is just one of a number of things that have made for an unpleasant experience. ... More

Lennar responded:
Hi Rika, thank you for taking the time to share this review. We are sorry to hear about the frustrations you have experienced, especially the issue with a non-functional dishwasher. If you could please send us an email at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any details you can provide, we will follow-up for you. - Lennar Customer Care ... More

Narrow Reviews by Area: