What Homeowners Have to Say About KB Home

KB Home has reputation for building quality new construction homes. Their satisfied homeowners give them an average rating of 4.6 stars for their beautiful floor plans and affordable upgrades, their skilled craftsmanship, and commitment to customer service on each house they build. You can read all of KB Home’s 2973 homeowner reviews to learn why they are the right team to build your new home.

4.6 out of 5 stars
in all areas

star-rating

2973 Reviews - 301 Communities

5 ★(2217)

4 ★(409)

3 ★(182)

2 ★(102)

1 ★(63)

Quality 4.5

Trustworthiness 4.6

Value 4.6

Responsiveness 4.6

star-rating Issues at every step

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Anonymous
  • North Las Vegas, NV
  • August 25, 2020

My wife and I found Aurora Heights about ten months ago as a developing community. The first impressions were very grand. The salesmen seemed nice and personable and we really liked the floorplans available. We put our deposit down fairly quickly and took a dive commited to buying our first home. We were assured that the home would be ready long before our lease ran out and that we would have no issued getting into our home. The first issue arose with the design studio. We were given a choice between two days. The salesman had them on speaker phone as we chose the day and he wrote it down at the same time that my wife wrote it in her own notes. I burned a day of leave and so did my wife so we could make the appointment. When we showed up we were turned away because the secretary that booked us apparently scheduled us for the wrong day. I wanted to walk away then but my wife talked me off the ledge. The second issues came up right at the beginning of the COVID shut down, only I wasn't aware quite yet. The salesman called me to inform me that the homes weren't going to be worked on for an unforseen duration. My wife and decided that this was the point where we should walk away. I called the salesman to tell him the news and he talked me off the ledge yet again, assuring me that he had just found out the homes were back to being worked on in full force. "Business as usual" was the term he used. My wife and I spend the next few weeks in apprehension as we visited the home each Sunday, noting no major progress being done after a certain point. Then about three weeks out from the scheduled walk, which had already been pushed back once, the salesman calls me to tell me the cabinet company was reopening finally. I was never informed that the suppliers were down. I was straight up lied to so that I would not walk away. We barely made it out of our apartment before the lease was up and had we not made it out, they would have raised our rent by 800 dollars a month as a sales tactic meant to force us into a new lease. The cabinets finally went in and we walked the house. The workmanship is subpar all around but I have conceded to the fact that it is due to me having rushed the project. There are in even lines and over spray from rushed paint jobs. Molding with inadequate caulking, parts of the molding in the bathroom was never even installed, a few of the cabinet doors didn't even match and the list goes on. All this explains why the builder was so addement that I don't bring an inspector with me for our final walk. I know multiple people searching for new builds, but I would never refer some one to use KB home. I know it's probably all mostly due to COVID19 but I am still a little salty. 2020 is a year where customer service in nearly every large company decided to take a nose dive and KB home was no exception to that theory. The home is overall nice, but I believe you could get a home just a nice with some one like DR Horton or Beezer and also have adequate treatment from the employees setting things up for you. ... More

star-rating KB Home - Communication and time was a huge problem for us

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Calisha W.
  • Universal City, TX
  • August 25, 2020

Communication and time was a huge problem for us

star-rating Nothing above and beyond

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anne T.
  • West Melbourne, FL
  • August 25, 2020

I have been in my house since June and I am still waiting for issues to be fixed. KB is quick to get the closing done but not so quick on getting items identified on the punch out list fixed.

star-rating Okay for low budget

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Sarfaraz M.
  • Katy, TX
  • July 17, 2020

Okay for low budget

star-rating Still haven’t gotten items fixed.

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Sarah P.
  • Ormond Beach, FL
  • July 07, 2020

3 weeks after my 10 day walk through and I’m still trying to get items fixed. Love the home. Sales was great and the construction was done on time.

KB Home responded:
Hi Sarah, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for any frustration, if you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding these issues you mentioned, please feel free to email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. –Brian ... More

star-rating Overall good home but some issues

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • AURORA, CO
  • June 23, 2020

Overall my home is nice but I wish the quality of work would have been better. Some of the work was done subpar and I have some items that need to be addressed because they were not done correctly at all. For the price I paid for the home I would have expected the workmanship to have been better. ... More

star-rating Framing was worse and all the workmanship is not satisfactory

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Bikash M.
  • Austin, TX
  • May 07, 2020

Sales was the only this we are satisfied because of Adrian . We closed some of the work which was pending promised to be taken care of later like landscaping it’s has negative slopes which happened while installing sprinkler system

KB Home responded:
Hi, Bikash, thank you for your feedback. If you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding the issues you mention, please let us know if we can assist. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. – Brian ... More

star-rating KB Home - It’s not bad not good

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Tank R.
  • Austin, TX
  • May 05, 2020

It’s not bad not good

star-rating Many things falling apart

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Milpitas, CA
  • April 21, 2020

We are excited to own our 1st home , the price/value is great but then when we landed in home it started falling apart , there are number of issues like Gas leakage , Tank-less water heater not working , ceiling lights popping out , gaps on edges of stairs etc . The person who did our home orientation did not take things right way to address them and always we need to claim to south bay homes and depend on their availability. I did not expect these kind of issues happen with new home which is not pleasant. our Thermostat was not working , when i tried to replace with new one it went down and they claim its not under warranty .. the new home less than 30 days how does it dont function well. overall happy only with purchase and community but not the amount of issues happening . ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello, we are sorry for any frustration. If you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding the issues you mention, please let us know. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. – Brian ... More

star-rating Sales staff are great! Getting things fixed? Not so much.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Greg S.
  • North Las Vegas, NV
  • April 11, 2020

Have nothing but good things to say about KB Home sales staff! Helpful from beginning to end. That being said, it's been nothing but frustration getting things fixed and fixed correctly. Poor workmanship and no response are the main issues.

KB Home responded:
Hi, Greg, we're sorry for any frustration. If you would like to speak with a manager of KB Home to discuss any concerns, please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. Best wishes. -James ... More

star-rating Fencing

Quality star-rating 5

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Michael J.
  • Jacksonville, FL
  • March 24, 2020

Been here for almost 2 months and still don’t have my fence up because HOA won’t get back to me. I’m honestly super disappointed with KBHS for not answering quickly. I have my back fence and side fence with the hoa and both are on my property. Been trying to get this figured out so I can get my fence up ... More

star-rating Beautiful home

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Rosa E.
  • Buckeye, AZ
  • March 03, 2020

Quality of appliances is great! Few things I’d improve for the price paid, paint quality on walls, insulation in walls so that the house is not paper thin.

star-rating Issues after moving in

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Victor R.
  • Universal City, TX
  • February 25, 2020

I have been waiting for the issues in the house to be fixed

KB Home responded:
Hi Victor, thank you for your feedback. If you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding the issues you mention, please let us know if we can assist. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. –Nick ... More

star-rating It’s an okay home

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Donna S.
  • Lockhart, TX
  • February 09, 2020

If you go with KB home, be really careful with your studio selections. Purchase as much of that as you can outside of the studio. And check on your home weekly as it’s being built.

star-rating KB Home - Some items in the home are poorly and cheaply made

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Compton, CA
  • January 28, 2020

Some items in the home are poorly and cheaply made

star-rating Experience Was Okay

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Bradenton, FL
  • January 24, 2020

They set the expectations high based on all the things they say/share and provide for documentation of the process yet it didn’t seem like they actually followed through with it. I guess it could’ve been worse but definitely not as great craftsmanship executed in the building of the home as they sale nor are they consistent. Make sure you use a realtor to keep you in the best interest and not just be another “Lot”. Overall the experience was okay but at the end of it all we had to “clean” a brand new home to move into. ... More

star-rating KB Home - For the most part we have been pleased with our new home.

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • AURORA, CO
  • January 21, 2020

For the most part we have been pleased with our new home. The part that we are unhappy with is that throughout the process we have been told many things and the timing of them getting done or getting them done the right way has been a pain. Especially with our front yard area. The plans always seem to change with KB and they don’t always seem to know what’s going on and their answer to solving a problem is that they will find out and let you know but then they never let you know. ... More

star-rating KB Home Advise

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Anonymous
  • Mesa, AZ
  • January 15, 2020

Make sure you have a realtor when you buy your KB Home. They respect realtors and ignore homeowners. You'll need someone to ensure that KB does the job and someone who can get you discounts on mistakes they make. Also, spend the money on an inspector no matter what the sales people say. ... More

star-rating KB Home - Value is not worth for the price paid

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Kissimmee, FL
  • January 14, 2020

Value is not worth for the price paid

KB Home responded:
Hello, it sounds like you’re frustrated, we’d really like to help. Feel free to email us at CustomerRealtions@kbhome.com. -Nick

star-rating Average home for an above average price.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Frank B.
  • Castle Rock, CO
  • January 14, 2020

KB spends a great deal of time, money and effort “selling” you a great home, but only puts forth minimal effort finishing and delivering it. Mine is still not finished 60 days after closing.

star-rating customer service counselor sales agent needs training

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Maria O.
  • Elk Grove, CA
  • January 14, 2020

customer service manager Rob is an excellent manager giving him 10 stars really concern with buyers and constructor supervisor Steven is the same thing 10 stars rate but the materials are cheap a lot of things to fix for a brand new house

KB Home responded:
Hi Maria, thank you for your feedback and we apologize for any frustration. If you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding the issues you mention, please let us know if we can assist. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. – Brian ... More

star-rating Great House, Poor Employees

Quality star-rating 5

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 5

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • San Antonio, TX
  • January 07, 2020

House is good. Great quality at a great price. However, the communications with the co structure crew and sales person was very poor. Would of been a great experience if they just listened to us versus fighting us. I would recommend KB to others with a different crew. Studio and mortgage process was amazing (even though kb asks for way to many documents). ... More

star-rating KB Home - Customer service after my move in was bad and i would suggest

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Sunil V.
  • Jacksonville, FL
  • December 04, 2019

Customer service after my move in was bad and i would suggest the team at least to respond if customer is calling. Dry wall after fixing my bathroom pan is left for more than 20 days during the period of Thanksgiving. I have called customer service but no response yet. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hi Sunil, we are very sorry for any frustration with customer service. Please email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. --James ... More

star-rating Recent purchase of former model townhome

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Henderson, NV
  • November 21, 2019

Sales team was great. Finance team was ok. Service team was poor.

star-rating Many false promises delivered in a very sophisticated way

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Irvine, CA
  • November 02, 2019

1. Credit from standard options that can be applied towards to upgrades - This is really not true. They do make it look its true on little things like the faucets that you can check outside but anything that goes in thousands and the exact model is not found in the stores they added at least a 50% premium mixing up with poor quality items. 2. Design studio's misleading sampling technique - sample items they showed in the design studio looks intentionally misleading. Flooring sample they have shown did not represent what they have actually installed. A small percentage of the difference can be acceptable but almost 50% of the planks installed were not the sample shown. 3. The house was delayed by more than a month - it can be understood if the the house is delayed by a month from the beginning of the construction. Sales reps told us the house will be ready in 2 weeks but it actually took 5 weeks. ... More