K. Hovnanian® Homes

star-rating (984 reviews in all areas)

What Homeowners Have to Say About K. Hovnanian® Homes in Houston

Read the 237 homeowner reviews of K. Hovnanian® Homes's new homes in the Houston area. Houston homeowners rated K. Hovnanian® Homes an average 4.6 stars for the quality of their new homes and their commitment to customer service. You can read all of K. Hovnanian® Homes’s reviews, to learn why their homeowners loved working with them, and why you should partner with them build your dream home.

4.6 out of 5 stars
in the Houston area

star-rating

237 Reviews - 34 Communities

5 ★(181)

4 ★(30)

3 ★(13)

2 ★(9)

1 ★(4)

Quality 4.6

Trustworthiness 4.7

Value 4.7

Responsiveness 4.7

star-rating Beautiful new home, but for the price, could be better.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 5

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Yaritza B.
  • Mont Belvieu, TX
  • July 07, 2020

Looooove our new home! But it seems that the builders cut way too many corners or don’t pay attention to detail. Many cosmetic flaws are very noticeable even to our visitors. Our fence was falling apart when we moved in. Khov was quick to fix which is good! But since the area where I purchased my khov home prices homes high, I would think they put in more supervision to each home that is built. Walk throughs are not enough. ... More

star-rating Feedback for 2607 Quiet Brook Ln

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 5

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Randolph W.
  • Richmond, TX
  • April 28, 2020

Overall, this was a very good home-buying experience for us. The contractual language in the earnest money contract was vague and this created a misunderstanding. I believe this has been corrected.

star-rating Happy to be home!

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Jennifer H.
  • Houston, TX
  • January 23, 2020

Shelby did a good job after having to replace a previous salesperson who initially handled my home purchase. She listened to my requests and executed what needed to be done.

star-rating K. Hovnanian® Homes - This is probably not a fair review as I have only lived in this

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Michael M.
  • Mont Belvieu, TX
  • January 17, 2020

This is probably not a fair review as I have only lived in this home for one month. I'd like to give another one in one year. As of now I would do it all over again. Besides dealing with Lois the office manager or design center.

star-rating 2nd KHOV home

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Gregory M.
  • Mont Belvieu, TX
  • January 14, 2020

Took quite awhile to get started, however we only closed 1 month later than originally predicted.

star-rating Great home I'm happy with

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • OSCAR V.
  • Houston, TX
  • December 19, 2019

Great home

star-rating K. Hovanian Homes is a good builder, they could be great.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Michael M.
  • Hockley, TX
  • August 25, 2020

- Quality - The quality of the materials used is great, the execution of installation at least in my case, was rushed and therefore substandard. They are still contacting me to finish duct blaster testing (I've been living in my home for 45 days) which should have been completed prior to my move in. They demanded that we close no later than a specific date but they didn't finish construction until just a few days before closing. Only allowing a few days for the walk through to be completed. On top of that they keep hassling you about giving them 5 stars on this rating. Stop asking and earn it. - Value- That being said I believe the value was there, definitely a good purchase. Not 5 stars because of the rushed work and the subsequent work requests I've had to put in and make time for them to fix. - Trustworthiness - 'At least they tell you they're cheap in some areas' Lighting for example, I was told by them that pretty much all of my lights would have to be replaced soon. I expected them to last at least a year. Nope, nearly all of my exterior lights and about 1/3 of my interior lights have either burnt out, dimmed significantly or are flickering. Since they were very upfront about that among other things, they get nearly full points for trustworthiness. Two reasons for 4 stars instead of 5. 1. They demanded earnest money to close by a specific date. No problem. Only that they did not finish building until three days prior to the last day we could close without incurring fees. The walk though and final walk though were just 1 day apart! 2. We were lied to during the selling about gaps on the underside of the fence. Probably just a misunderstanding (I don't think it was malicious) between what sales thinks construction can/will do. - Responsiveness - It's slow. I expect it to be slow. I don't expect a business to prioritize warranty issues. I put in a request to fix a door and it took a week to get a reply. Therefore, a 4 star 'okay' rating. They respond and resolve issues without much fuss but it's not a 5 star response. All that being said, I want to shout out an all-star that they have working for them. Robert. The construction manager has been super honest and very helpful, he was given a nearly impossible timeline and has been working tirelessly to assist us. He alone is why my rating is not significantly lower. If I was just rating him, then I would give him 5 stars all around! ... More

star-rating Fairly Happy

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Travis M.
  • Alvin, TX
  • July 07, 2020

Some of the workmanship was less than par ( Paint & Tile). Some of the promises such as adding more flooring and step up to 2nd level in the attic was never performed. Sloppy concrete on brick, cracked concrete in the garage step. Other than those items were fairly happy with everything. ... More

star-rating K. Hovnanian® Homes - Overall the experience was great from the salesman to the KHOV

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Jaime P.
  • Pasadena, TX
  • May 28, 2020

Overall the experience was great from the salesman to the KHOV account management. The only issue I have is the finishing details were rushed.

star-rating inventory buy

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Quynhlan N.
  • Richmond, TX
  • May 26, 2020

This is my first time buying an inventory home. I was sad that since it was fully built I could not go back and add or change out for things I wanted. Over all the home is well build. Builder is responsive to service call within the first month of moving in. ... More

star-rating Good, but needs work.

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • League City, TX
  • March 10, 2020

The key to Westwood is Brandi in sales. The weak point in Westwood is Brent in the building process. Brandi sets just a great platform for Khov and tries to maintain the balance and clean up brent’s messes. He needs to be retrained, take a time management class or be able to do what he says he will, when he says, which is few and far in between. Nice guy, but not trustworthy and gives homeowners an uneasy feeling when making the biggest purchase of their life. Please fix the issue and try to resolve at the lowest level. Brandi works too hard in Westwood to be destroyed by Brent’s actions. ... More

star-rating Review of KHOV Home Buying Process

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 5

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Anonymous
  • Katy, TX
  • July 08, 2020

The real estate agent Greg was great. Although, we have experienced many calls to Matt to have the contractors fix our floor/countertop/master shower. Matt the construction manager is attentive to our questions and requests. KHOV Mortgage was not the same story. ... More

star-rating K. Hovnanian® Homes - Make sure you understand that when they tell you that you have

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Gerald G.
  • Mont Belvieu, TX
  • January 21, 2020

Make sure you understand that when they tell you that you have x values in upgrades that they are going to add that to your final sale price. Nothing is free.

star-rating Everything was great except for our salesman

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Jr., G.
  • Pasadena, TX
  • June 02, 2020

Salesman was not up front about easement or telephone wires, told me I could fit a pool but quotes from pool companies stated that I couldn’t due to size of easement.

star-rating Good but not great

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Anonymous
  • Richmond, TX
  • January 22, 2020

Overall the sales price was nice. Professionalism and manners of staff not so great. They do not replace appliances or major fixtures in home even if needing to be replaced.

star-rating Great home - avoid the finance company

Quality star-rating 5

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Christopher R.
  • Houston, TX
  • December 16, 2019

Love the home and the workmanship - Finance company not so great on rates. You can do better, by shopping the loan. Do not lock in with them, until you are sure on rates.

star-rating End result was good, but there's always room for improvement

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Steven B.
  • Dickinson, TX
  • June 10, 2020

This was my first new build so I'm not sure what the norm is. With that said, I wasn't blown away with my experience. I'm happy with my home and I was pleased with the end result but it took a lot of back and forth to get it there. The most impressive part of the experience was after I closed. I had an emergency situation and Jay was there for me. That meant a lot. The only real negative was the preliminary final walk. I think we all learned from that experience. As the title stated, there's always room for improvement. ... More

star-rating Little to no attention to detail

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Kenneth T.
  • Alvin, TX
  • November 12, 2019

A lot of issues with the construction, quality and operation of materials. The company seems very scatter brained and unorganized. The house seems like it was rushed without caring for the homeowner, hardly been in the house for six weeks and have had a plethora of issues. Had to submit two warranty claims before I was contacted. Failure to pay attention to details, simple things like leaving the gas line off, not installing strike plates on door frames. Sconces are missed bolt covers, looks tacky. Garage door off tracks, no light cover in bathroom for over a month. Still hasn’t touched up Sheetrock in laundry room after repairing the wall. A lot of contractors that are hired take 2-3 days to finish a job that takes a few hours. Often leave jobs unfinished, at least 10+ problems within the first month. No insulation on water hose spouts, which was on the list at walk through. Doors were installed incorrectly in media room and then a bad sheet rock job was done after repair. Areas of paint left not touched up. Probably would suggest people look at reviews for other companies before considering KHov ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Ken - thank you for providing feedback on your recent homebuilding experience. We are very sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the quality of materials used in your new home and have had to place multiple warranty calls. If you continue to have issues please feel free to contact us at customercare@khov.com and we can pass along to the appropriate representatives in your area. Thanks! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating I would not recommend KHOV as a builder

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Matthew G.
  • Mont Belvieu, TX
  • August 30, 2020

We ran into many issues with KHOV throughout the building process. To start, the sales rep that we had was very new and didn't really know what she was doing. Every question we asked was never able to be answered by her, she was always having to go to the senior sales rep which just prolonged the process and sometimes made things lost in translation. And when we asked to be changed to the senior rep so that we didn't have all this confusion, we were told we couldn't. Another big issue with a freshman sales rep was that she neglected to inform us that their "free incentives" were tied to using their lender. We didn't learn this information until after we had already signed paperwork to start building, and payed partial structural change cost and earnest money that we would have lost. The reason this was a big deal was because their lender wouldn't give us the going interest rate the day we locked in the financing. They quoted me a whole .5% higher. When we told them we would then use a different lender who could get me the true going rate, that's when they started informing me that I would lose the incentive cash, the money towards closing cost, and the title fee if I didn't go with them along with a $500 per day fee if we didn't close in time. When it came to the actual home building, they clearly use contractors that do not care one bit about this being someone's home. Every time we did a walkthrough, we would find issues that weren't there before, but some new craft came in and messed up already completed work. A lot of this stuff was fixed after the blue tape walkthrough, but added a lot more stress to the process than necessary. The tile work also was a big issue. We ended up finding 15 cracked tiles that got installed. All were clearly cracked in the same spot, but were installed anyway as if the people laying it never bothered to check over it. Then, on top of the grout lines being very thick and sloppy (outright missing in areas in the showers, uneven and dried on top on the floor tiles), they don't seal any of it. This may not seem like a big deal to everyone but when you have 2100sqft of tile throughout the house along with tiled showers and tub, mostly containing light colored tile, it really becomes one. All others I had talked to about their new homes by other builders said that all their tile came sealed already. It took 3 people, 8 hours, to do this before we could actually move stuff in. Other issues we had, some were fixed and some were missed but finding them along the way were, sloppy caulking inside and out, texturing issues, paint and texture on most of the electrical faceplates, uneven reveals on most of the door frames, hung our sliding barn doors very uneven, scratches on the garage doors, and others I'm sure I'm forgetting. We still are glad we bought this home because we love the location and the neighborhood, but like my review title states, I would not recommend KHOV to build your new home. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Matthew - thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent experience, we have sent your comments over to local leadership for their review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Not a happy camper but I have something to build upon.

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Lafayette B.
  • Mont Belvieu, TX
  • May 26, 2020

My experience with KHOV Mont Belvieu has been for the most part an positive experience. The sales person was amazing, by far the best part of this, the sales person really went above and beyond to make me feel appreciated. The finance team is very efficient, although I did have an issue with my Wind/Storm certificate making it over to my insurance company before closing. But the builder and the condition of my home was unacceptable. The floors of my home arrived late, like days before closing. Therefore I was having my home inspection while there was a ton of work still being done in my home. And when closing came my home had paint all on the wood floors, windows and window frame and shower rods fallen off in the bathroom, dead grass, marked up cabinets, etc. The closing should have been pushed back and the home needed at least an extra week of thorough work. And as of this date I'm still waiting for puchlist items to be finished two months after closing. ... More

star-rating Pending Issues

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Quinice P.
  • Richmond, TX
  • March 06, 2020

It’s hard to give a review when there are still pending issues that we’re going back on forth on, hence the reason why I held off on doing this survey.. so this is the best I can give at this time

star-rating I received my home with diferent size kitchen cabinets

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Angelica H.
  • Humble, TX
  • March 03, 2020

bad response from managers, very unprofessional, I had a bad experience talking and complain for issues or mistakes that sales person made, giving a different floor plan to constructor, then I was trying to get what I choose and pay, but no luck with the manager that was very unprofessional to solve issues. also company use very cheap material, Im still having issues with door nobs falling off. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Angelica - sorry to read that you did not have a good experience while building your new home. We are going to send your comments over to the appropriate local representatives for their review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating K. Hovnanian® Homes - Very stressful process!

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Anonymous
  • League City, TX
  • May 05, 2020

Very stressful process! Had to complain to get cosmetic issues fixed that clearly needed to be fixed. Construction manager did catch a few things before me and corrected them before I had to complain. KHOV waited until last minute to schedule walk through and should’ve been done at least a week prior to closing to have appropriate time to get everything fixed. Was told if I don’t close they could delay fixing the issues for months so felt forced to close so my interest rate wasn’t affected. Running across issues the longer I’m here. Can file warranty claims for some things that did get fixed correctly on walk through. Everything should have been done right the first time.... ... More

star-rating You Get What You Get

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Craig T.
  • Pasadena, TX
  • February 11, 2020

This is not a custom home, I repeat, this is not a custom home. They build them as fast as they can and try to cover up as much as possible. You have to be thorough in your own inspections and stay on top of the contractor to make sure the issues actually get fixed. ... More

star-rating Dead Bermuda grass.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Grace U.
  • Richmond, TX
  • August 26, 2020

Since the house sat unoccupied for a minute, the grass behind died. They replaced the back grass but didn't replace the grass infant and behind. House was fine but I moved in with horrible grass. Called and messaged the construction manager a couple of times after he promised to replace the side grass but hasn't. Even the front grass didn't look attractive at all. Now I am stuck with dead grass on the sides of my house and horrible grass in front. Sales guy was the best tho. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Morning Grace - sorry to hear that you had some issues with your landscaping. We have sent your comments to the local team for their review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes ... More