K. Hovnanian® Homes

star-rating (1046 reviews in all areas)

What Homeowners Have to Say About K. Hovnanian® Homes in Houston

Read the 248 homeowner reviews of K. Hovnanian® Homes's new homes in the Houston area. Houston homeowners rated K. Hovnanian® Homes an average 4.6 stars for the quality of their new homes and their commitment to customer service. You can read all of K. Hovnanian® Homes’s reviews, to learn why their homeowners loved working with them, and why you should partner with them build your dream home.

4.6 out of 5 stars
in the Houston area

star-rating

248 Reviews - 33 Communities

5 ★(188)

4 ★(33)

3 ★(12)

2 ★(10)

1 ★(5)

Quality 4.6

Trustworthiness 4.7

Value 4.7

Responsiveness 4.7

star-rating Great home - avoid the finance company

Quality star-rating 5

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Christopher R.
  • Houston, TX
  • December 16, 2019

Love the home and the workmanship - Finance company not so great on rates. You can do better, by shopping the loan. Do not lock in with them, until you are sure on rates.

star-rating End result was good, but there's always room for improvement

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Steven B.
  • Dickinson, TX
  • June 10, 2020

This was my first new build so I'm not sure what the norm is. With that said, I wasn't blown away with my experience. I'm happy with my home and I was pleased with the end result but it took a lot of back and forth to get it there. The most impressive part of the experience was after I closed. I had an emergency situation and Jay was there for me. That meant a lot. The only real negative was the preliminary final walk. I think we all learned from that experience. As the title stated, there's always room for improvement. ... More

star-rating Little to no attention to detail

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Kenneth T.
  • Alvin, TX
  • November 12, 2019

A lot of issues with the construction, quality and operation of materials. The company seems very scatter brained and unorganized. The house seems like it was rushed without caring for the homeowner, hardly been in the house for six weeks and have had a plethora of issues. Had to submit two warranty claims before I was contacted. Failure to pay attention to details, simple things like leaving the gas line off, not installing strike plates on door frames. Sconces are missed bolt covers, looks tacky. Garage door off tracks, no light cover in bathroom for over a month. Still hasn’t touched up Sheetrock in laundry room after repairing the wall. A lot of contractors that are hired take 2-3 days to finish a job that takes a few hours. Often leave jobs unfinished, at least 10+ problems within the first month. No insulation on water hose spouts, which was on the list at walk through. Doors were installed incorrectly in media room and then a bad sheet rock job was done after repair. Areas of paint left not touched up. Probably would suggest people look at reviews for other companies before considering KHov ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Ken - thank you for providing feedback on your recent homebuilding experience. We are very sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the quality of materials used in your new home and have had to place multiple warranty calls. If you continue to have issues please feel free to contact us at customercare@khov.com and we can pass along to the appropriate representatives in your area. Thanks! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Not a happy camper but I have something to build upon.

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Lafayette B.
  • Mont Belvieu, TX
  • May 26, 2020

My experience with KHOV Mont Belvieu has been for the most part an positive experience. The sales person was amazing, by far the best part of this, the sales person really went above and beyond to make me feel appreciated. The finance team is very efficient, although I did have an issue with my Wind/Storm certificate making it over to my insurance company before closing. But the builder and the condition of my home was unacceptable. The floors of my home arrived late, like days before closing. Therefore I was having my home inspection while there was a ton of work still being done in my home. And when closing came my home had paint all on the wood floors, windows and window frame and shower rods fallen off in the bathroom, dead grass, marked up cabinets, etc. The closing should have been pushed back and the home needed at least an extra week of thorough work. And as of this date I'm still waiting for puchlist items to be finished two months after closing. ... More

star-rating Pending Issues

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Quinice P.
  • Richmond, TX
  • March 06, 2020

It’s hard to give a review when there are still pending issues that we’re going back on forth on, hence the reason why I held off on doing this survey.. so this is the best I can give at this time

star-rating I received my home with diferent size kitchen cabinets

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Angelica H.
  • Humble, TX
  • March 03, 2020

bad response from managers, very unprofessional, I had a bad experience talking and complain for issues or mistakes that sales person made, giving a different floor plan to constructor, then I was trying to get what I choose and pay, but no luck with the manager that was very unprofessional to solve issues. also company use very cheap material, Im still having issues with door nobs falling off. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Angelica - sorry to read that you did not have a good experience while building your new home. We are going to send your comments over to the appropriate local representatives for their review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating K. Hovnanian® Homes - Very stressful process!

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Anonymous
  • League City, TX
  • May 05, 2020

Very stressful process! Had to complain to get cosmetic issues fixed that clearly needed to be fixed. Construction manager did catch a few things before me and corrected them before I had to complain. KHOV waited until last minute to schedule walk through and should’ve been done at least a week prior to closing to have appropriate time to get everything fixed. Was told if I don’t close they could delay fixing the issues for months so felt forced to close so my interest rate wasn’t affected. Running across issues the longer I’m here. Can file warranty claims for some things that did get fixed correctly on walk through. Everything should have been done right the first time.... ... More

star-rating You Get What You Get

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Craig T.
  • Pasadena, TX
  • February 11, 2020

This is not a custom home, I repeat, this is not a custom home. They build them as fast as they can and try to cover up as much as possible. You have to be thorough in your own inspections and stay on top of the contractor to make sure the issues actually get fixed. ... More

star-rating Should be better for the price!

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • David P.
  • Pasadena, TX
  • October 12, 2020

We have already had 4 issues with our ac unit , that STILL ISNT SOLVED and one problem with the plumbing. I understand some work is builders grade like paint, but for over $355K, I expected more from these basic systems.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning, and thank you for providing feedback. We apologize for the issues with your ac unit and have sent your comments to local representatives for their review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Dead Bermuda grass.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Grace U.
  • Richmond, TX
  • August 26, 2020

Since the house sat unoccupied for a minute, the grass behind died. They replaced the back grass but didn't replace the grass infant and behind. House was fine but I moved in with horrible grass. Called and messaged the construction manager a couple of times after he promised to replace the side grass but hasn't. Even the front grass didn't look attractive at all. Now I am stuck with dead grass on the sides of my house and horrible grass in front. Sales guy was the best tho. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Morning Grace - sorry to hear that you had some issues with your landscaping. We have sent your comments to the local team for their review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Lack of communication

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Alvin, TX
  • August 20, 2020

The sales team had little to no communication, all people involved were lazy and not willing to address issues in a timely manner if at all. No important details were communicated to the buyer

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Sorry to hear that you did not have a great experience while building your new home and felt there was a lack of communication. We are sending your comments to the local team for review, have a great day! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Find another Mortgage Lender

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Cypress, TX
  • July 28, 2020

The contracted builder for this home was fantastic, however the mortgage side for this company is horrible. KHOV Mortgage forces buyers to use their own 3rd party resources. The company’s representatives do not respond or handle matters diligently. It is so hard and frustrating to get into contact with anyone in this company. Please do not use this company. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Thank you for providing feedback, we have sent your comments to local team members for review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Frustrated

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Dickinson, TX
  • June 02, 2020

Run around on getting issues corrected in a timely manner. If the home owner does not follow up multiple times nothing happens. Even then the odds of getting if fix are low. Half the time they pawn you off on the sub-contractors.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that you are frustrated with your experience, and have sent your comments to local representatives for their review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Very disapointing

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Naomi C.
  • Dickinson, TX
  • May 28, 2020

I was very disappointed in my experience with K Hovnanian homes. As a single mother, I chose K Hovnanian above other builders as I believed they had superior workmanship. During the building process, several issues arose, none of which were dealt with in a satisfactory manner. Each time I was pacified with a promise to look into the issues, then when I followed up several times later, I would be told that it was now too late in the process. Some examples were: - The kitchen Island was in the wrong location, 4 inches too close to the wall where the stove is located, when I asked for it to be moved, 2 inches was cut from the island base. - During the pre-cover meeting, I arrived at the house to find they had started to install the sheetrock and all the walls were half covered. - One of the electrical outlets in the master bedroom was in a location that when the bed is in place, the outlet is not accessible. I asked several times for it to be moved before the sheetrock was installed. After much pushing, another outlet was moved, but not the one I requested. When the electrician moved the other outlet, it brought the electrical work out of code, so the builder then refused to move the outlet I had requested. - During the pre-cover meeting I pointed out the sound proofing was missing from the master bedroom, the builder assured me it would be installed before they finished the sheetrock. When I followed up a few days later, the sound proofing had not been installed. I asked for the sheetrock to be removed, the builder didn't respond to my text. When I followed up again, he told me the walls were finished and they would not remove the sheetrock. Instead they drilled 32 holes in the master bedroom sheetrock and pushed the insulation through the holes. - Most of the internal doors in the home are damaged and cut too short, they are all approx. 2 inches from the floor, so when a light is on outside the rooms. The entire rooms are lit up, making it very difficult for my children to sleep. - Several of the kitchen, bathroom and laundry room cabinets are damaged. - The master bathroom Mirror is not level - The joins on the base boards are not level, each join sticks out and is very unsightly, I mentioned this several times during walk throughs and with the builders, they just agreed with me and never fixed it. - The grout between the tiles in the foyer, second bathroom floor and shower, kitchen, master bathroom floor and shower, hallway to bedroom four all have holes. When I raised this issue, I was told they would leave grout for me to fix it. They only left one grout color, so I cannot fix the bathrooms. - The glass in the front door allows water to leak into the foyer, each time it rains I have a puddle of water on the floor at the front door. - When it rains, one side of my house has a river on the grass, which holds the water for days afterwards. At the time I purchased my home, they were building 6 other homes. Perhaps the rush to get the homes completed within the allotted 150 days from the foundation being poured, was a contributing factor to the poor workmanship in my home. However, paying almost $500K for a home that I walk around and see sub-standard work, is very frustrating and extremely disappointing. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent experience. We have sent your comments to local representatives for review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating I've witnessed Kids doing construction on homes.

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Missouri City, TX
  • May 12, 2020

I moved into my house during Covid and have been having work done since. The contractors are slopy and I've witnessed children working on the homes that are being built around me more that once. I feel the sloppiness of the contractors that KHOV are teaming with should be reconsidered. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thanks for taking time to provide feedback on your homebuilding experience. Your comments have been sent over to local representatives for their review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Disappointed

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Rhonda P.
  • Pasadena, TX
  • March 10, 2020

More concerned with closing then getting it right

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thank you for providing feedback, we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your homebuilding experience. We are going to pass along your comments to the appropriate local team members for review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Still waiting for issues to addressed from initial walk through.

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Luke L.
  • Richmond, TX
  • June 02, 2020

We are still waiting for issues that need to be addressed from the initial walk-through and it’s been over a months sense because the house. New superintendent is contacting us and he seems like is Trying to address the issues that were promised to be fixed before closing. The hard wood floor and bath- kitchen cabinets still need to be fixed. The reason for giving bad reviews for workmanship is because I have to replace a door knob, have to paint almost 5 door because it’s pealing from the bottom( this was’nt addressed are the at the walk through, the metal overnight on the upstairs mirror was chipped which we saw on the closing day, all door frames are not sealed at the bottom, garage doesn’t have wall base we’re we found to mice and other pest, AC is making too much noice and toilet water supply lines from building is sticking out from wall(it not installed properly. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Luke - sorry to read that you are still waiting on issues to be resolved, we are sending your comments to local representatives for review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Trust but verify

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anita D.
  • Richmond, TX
  • March 10, 2020

Our experience is different than most as this is a second home and our primary home is out of state. With that, we found several pieces of the processes were less than satisfactory. For example, the cabinetry in the home is unacceptable. We did not realize this until after closing. Because the poor quality of the cabinets, we are now remodeling the entire kitchen. We took every upgrade possible with the home, I am not sure why were not told the widest kitchen drawer would be 12". Perhaps if I had asked more questions during the design phase, this would have been uncovered. I also asked the building supervisor to leave the towel rods and not install, as I had ideas of where I wanted them placed and did not want to repair sheet rock and paint. After viewing the home, none of the rods were left. I've called and he says he will re-order and bring by .... waiting. In addition, we closed 6 weeks ago and there are several punch list items that have not been corrected by the team. Again, all of this is extended due to second home and we are only able to visit 1-2 x a month on the weekends. The overall construction and quality of the home is good - however, you need to be knowledgeable about construction and a sqeaky wheel to get resolutions. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Anita - thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent experience. Sorry to hear that some of our processes were less than satisfactory for you. I will pass along your concerns to the appropriate local representatives for their review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Craftsmanship is horrible

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Tracy M.
  • Mont Belvieu, TX
  • October 03, 2019

Overall the craftsmanship is horrible. Even when the come in to make repairs the people that come back are rude, lazy and don’t feel like they should have to make corrections and they do it just as bad as the first time. Lois is wonderful and very helpful and Justin tries to keep things flowing and done correctly but the guys that work on these houses need a constant babysitter. I am very disappointed in the process and the workmanship. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Tracy. Thank you for providing feedback on your experience. We sincerely apologize for the issues you are having with the craftsmanship of your new home. If you continue to have issues, please feel free to contact us at customercare@khov.com and we can forward your email to the appropriate local representatives. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Very poorly designed and inadequate drainage system of house and lot

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Michael G.
  • Missouri City, TX
  • January 30, 2020

Yard flooded during first heavy rain. Concealed poor drainage before closing, I would not have purchased this home if I knew how bad the drainage of the lot and house were. I would like to sell the house back if possible. I don’t trust anyone from this organization and feel this problem was concealed from me ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Morning Michael - thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Sorry that you are are experiencing flooding with your new home due to drainage issues. If you continue to have issues, please feel free to email customercare@khov.com and we can pass along to the appropriate local representatives. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating K. Hovnanian® Homes - Very poor quality of finished materials throughout the house

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Juan G.
  • Mont Belvieu, TX
  • September 24, 2020

Very poor quality of finished materials throughout the house inside and outside. They are still having trouble fixing the details that are not finished and they have been working for 2 weeks. I regret having bought this house from all the details that I have found throughout the house and I only have 3 weeks living in it. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Juan - thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, we are sorry to hear that you are not happy with the quality of materials in your new home. We have sent your comments to local team members for review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Wouldn't do it again

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Pasadena, TX
  • July 14, 2020

They used the cheapest contractors out there. They're really looking out for KHOV.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning - we have sent your comments to the local team for their review. Thanks, have a good day! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Very Dissatisfied Customer

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Jerry T.
  • Richmond, TX
  • January 14, 2020

There have been a number of issues with the property and trying to get a response from the builders construction manager is nearly impossible.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Jerry - sorry to hear that you are having issues in your new home. If you would like to email us at customercare@khov.com with some details we can pass along to the appropriate local team members. Thanks! khovnanianhomes ... More