Skip main navigation

K. Hovnanian® Homes

star-rating (1623 reviews in all areas)

What Homeowners Have to Say About K. Hovnanian® Homes

K. Hovnanian® Homes has reputation for building quality new construction homes. Their satisfied homeowners give them an average rating of 4.4 stars for their beautiful floor plans and affordable upgrades, their skilled craftsmanship, and commitment to customer service on each house they build. You can read all of K. Hovnanian® Homes’s 1623 homeowner reviews to learn why they are the right team to build your new home.

4.4 out of 5 stars
in all areas

star-rating

1623 Reviews - 125 Communities

5 ★(1102)

4 ★(249)

3 ★(132)

2 ★(63)

1 ★(77)

Quality 4.3

Trustworthiness 4.4

Value 4.5

Responsiveness 4.4

star-rating K. Hovnanian® Homes - Very poor quality of finished materials throughout the house

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Juan G.
  • Mont Belvieu, TX
  • September 24, 2020

Very poor quality of finished materials throughout the house inside and outside. They are still having trouble fixing the details that are not finished and they have been working for 2 weeks. I regret having bought this house from all the details that I have found throughout the house and I only have 3 weeks living in it. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Juan - thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, we are sorry to hear that you are not happy with the quality of materials in your new home. We have sent your comments to local team members for review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating K. Hovnanian® Homes - I did not enjoy the overall process of buying my home.

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Tionte T.
  • Joliet, IL
  • June 23, 2020

I did not enjoy the overall process of buying my home. I would not recommend K.Hovnaian homes to anyone.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Tionte - sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your home buying experience. We have sent your feedback to local representatives for their review. Thanks for taking time to provide feedback, have a great day! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Terrible Customer Service (First Time Homeowner)

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Arthur N.
  • Dover, DE
  • June 19, 2020

The process of buying and building a home with K. Hovanian homes has been nothing short of a snowball effect of confusion and disappointment. We came into this process with high hopes and expectations based on our first initial meetings with (sales rep) and (sales manager) respectively, but the shortcomings we’ve experienced with K. Hovanian started almost immediately after we began working with (sales manager) on building our home. Initially, we expressed to (sales rep) in July of 2019 that we wanted a speedy moving process, but we learned that phase 1 was almost complete, and that there weren’t many home sites left to choose from. (Sales rep) had assured us that while phase 1 of the building was coming to a close, phase 2 would shortly begin and we could have one of the top picks for a lot. This being our first home, we wanted things to be perfect from start to finish, so we decided to take her advice and wait. Roughly a month passes by while we’re waiting until Phase 2 to start, and we hear from (sales manager) that there would be no phase 2 for this community. At this point we expressed our disappointment to (Sales manager), and explained that we felt like we were receiving the short end of the stick because were told to wait for Phase 2 and other specials/incentives phase 2 would bring, which (sales manager) replies that not only will we have to choose from the picked over site plans, but that we also missed out on the incentive that was being offered in the summer with waived transfer tax. At this point this wasn’t a total deal breaker, but we, as the customer, felt like something should’ve been honored for this confusion. We asked (sales manager) for different options to make us feel valued since we had already missed out on so much, only for her to come back and say “my manager said it’s not in the budget”. We again, were turned down and disappointed. Once we decided on lot 87, which was among a very small group of choices, we had asked (sales manager) if closing costs could be rolled in to our loan, since we were not offered the summer special of waived transfer fees, and she said yes. Come to find out in December of 2019 from (finance manager) at K.Hovanian finance, we cannot do this, but when we questioned (sales manager) she says she never told us that, and that we “should’ve got it in writing”. We met with (sales manager) in August 2019 for the signing of our contract to begin building, with an estimated settlement date around February 21, 2020. October of 2019, after 2 months of us believing our home was in the process of being built, (sales manager) calls to tell us that lot 87 was no longer available, and that we had to pick a different lot from three completely different lots, none of which were offered to us when we sat down to sign the contract back in August 2019. We expressed our concern with this sudden change, and how uncomfortable we felt moving forward after this was kept from us for such anextended period of time, and threatened to go to a competitor. (Sales manager) was somehow able to get us lot 87 back the next day. From this point through December, we had absolutely no idea the status regarding construction of our home due to lack of communication by (sales manager) weeks on end. (She would call us after we would reach out and say "I have nothing to tell you”). We finally knew the status of our home and the process of ordering materials began around the end of the month in December of 2019, which is only due to me calling corporate and escalating to VP of sales . (Sales manager), after learning that we contacted (VP of Sales) ,called me and said that the only reason the beginning of construction took this long is because we did not pay full down payment yet. This comes after the fact that she told us before we signed the contract that we can do a payment plan for the deposit, so once again, (sales manager) is providing false and slightly demeaning explanations. After escalating all of these issues to the corporate office, we were told that VP of sales for this region (VP of sales) would reach out to us and come up with a solution for us. His solution was that every Monday we would be contacted by (construction manager) and (sales manager) with a status update of our home. For two weeks we were left to wonder yet again 'what the heck is going on with our home?'. (Sales manager) failed AGAIN to communicate. We understand now that (construction manager) was on vacation. Our experience has been a total nightmare. Our first experience as homebuyers is a complete disaster. We feel that we should have continued renting. We don’t feel we are getting a deal, we feel ripped off and left behind. We want someone to make it right for us and restore confidence in our decision to build with K Hovananian. Make us feel special!! ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback, we have sent your comments to local representatives for review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Non-responsive

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Rajan G.
  • Morristown, NJ
  • June 02, 2020

Do not close on the sale if there are any outstanding issues. Once the sales transaction is complete, the company is essentially not responsive.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Rajan - thank you for taking time to provide feedback, we have sent your comments to the local representatives for review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Would never recommend a KHov home

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Joseph L.
  • Casa Grande, AZ
  • May 20, 2020

Worst home buying experience I have ever had, Who cares right? the house is sold. My keys to the home were left on my kitchen Island, The sales agent did not even have the decency to deliver the home keys personally, whether she liked me or not, it is the professional thing to do. I have already had the house torn apart due to a water leak, and who knows when the cabinets will be complete. I paid $81.00 with a receipt provided to one of the customer service managers named Jeff for an electrician to come in and deal with a bad arching outlet, I Truly was afraid of a house fire, Yeah Yeah we will deal with that and reimburse due to the potentially dangerous situation and arching outlet presents. I am one consumer, one in a line of thousands and this experience made me realize just how insignificant I am. The home sold, I am no longer important to this home builder. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent experience, your comments have been passed along to the appropriate local representatives for their review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Never again, would not recomend to family or friends

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Estela C.
  • Bakersfield, CA
  • April 14, 2020

Flooded back yard, still not fixed after 2 visits. Poor cabinets installation and finish trim carpentry. Home was not even given a thorough cleaning 4 delivery. Overall poor layout and. As I was told "these are homes for the low end buyers", 1/4 of a million is not low end, and really expensive quality/value even in this over inflated market, 2008 all over again !! ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Estela - thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, we will pass your comments along to the appropriate local representatives for their review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Great brand but poor material quality and workmanship

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Hillsborough, NJ
  • March 11, 2020

I was super excited to get into my new home. Not even few weeks and there is huge list of issues from quality of products to workmanship. Washing machine didn't do even few cycles and broke, undone nails under the carpet hurt my daughter, fluctuating lights and the list goes on and on ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, sorry to hear that you are experiencing issues with the materials and workmanship in your new home. We are going to pass along your comments to local representatives for their review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating New Home - Bad workmanship

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Oswego, IL
  • February 18, 2020

Our drywall was falling from the ceiling. K Homes advised it was installed incorrectly. Instead of reinstalling the drywall, they just patched some of it and said the warranty will cover future issues, not exactly what you think you are paying for when buying a new home. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good afternoon - thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. If you need assistance in the future feel free to email us at customercare@khov.com with your contact information and we can pass along to the appropriate local team members. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Disappointed Homebuyer

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Derek L.
  • Richwood, TX
  • January 16, 2020

My family was disappointed in the overall home buying experience with K. Hovnanian. There was constant miscommunications, lack of details, promises unkept, displeasure with the product from day 1 of the home buying process. If you do purchase a home through K. Hovnanian be sure to ask plenty of questions on the details of everything, don't assume anything, expect delays in the whole process. Bottom line: You are just another customer and they are going to try to spend the least amount of money and least amount of effort to complete your house. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Derek - thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are very sorry to read that you were disappointed in the overall experience. If you continue to have issues and need assistance please feel free to contact us at customercare@khov.com with details and we can pass along to the appropriate local representatives. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating K. Hovnanian® Homes - Can’t wait to sell

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Sacramento, CA
  • November 13, 2019

Can’t wait to sell

star-rating Wish I would have bought from another builder

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Jason L.
  • Casa Grande, AZ
  • October 03, 2019

At the beginning the buying process was normal until our salesman ( who is no longer employed ) started lying and giving us the run around. After the home was completed and during the final walk through we hired an independent inspector and he found numerous issues with the home and some were even code violations. None of these issues only a few of these items have been addressed but none of the code violations have. At this point I have been advised to contact the Registers of Contractors (ROC) to help us get these issues addressed and fixed. I wish that it would not have to come to this but your company’s unwillingness to fix these problems has finally reached a point that I no longer have any other avenues. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Jason - sorry that you had a negative experience while building your new home with us. If you have any further issues and would like to email us at customercare@khov.com we will forward to the appropriate local representatives. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Building and quality control

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Lodi, CA
  • December 01, 2020

KHOV, I truly hope this review gets elevated to your upper management. Our experience started in June 2020. We’ve had multiple quality and construction issues through the building process. You guys need to perform your own quality inspection thought each construction phase frame, sheet rock and finishing. Absolutely crazy that you can install the wrong color counter tops twice. Sheet rock had multiple bows. Drywall finish issues thought the House especially where they replaced the counter tops. No one even bothered to paint the repairs, they just textured them. Sliding rear door wouldn’t close correctly. I mentioned it to the construction manager and they addressed it, but it’s not the customer responsibility to do someone’s else’s work and point things out. Not to mention I have a cooktop since October 30th that I can’t use because of damaged leaking gas on cooktop. It goes back to not performing self inspections. It’s seems to me that upper management is more worried about meeting a deadline and closing on a specific date than the quality of your product. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. We have sent your comments to the appropriate parties for review, have a good day! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Lack of professionalism

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Madera, CA
  • November 18, 2020

I had a issue with the way the driveway was formed. I talked to the sale guy, site Foreman, they both said they can't help me. So I talked to the area manager. She told me if I don't like it to take my money elsewhere.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thank you for providing feedback, we have sent your comments to the local team for review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Very disappointed

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Yessica Z.
  • Lodi, CA
  • September 22, 2020

This has by far been the worst home buying experience I’ve had to deal with. We are second time home buyers and I would say buying a fixer upper was a better experience then buying a new “move in ready” home. The lack of communication within such a well known company is disappointing. On multiple occasions we had appointments made and canceled with out our knowledge. My husband and I who both work Active Duty, Took days off only to show up to our appointments being canceled. When we asked to speak to a manager we were promised we would get a call and never did. Only to have this happen a second time. The second time being worse because it was a title appointment. Again asking to speak to someone we were promised we would be contacted. No one has reached out to us in over a month. Still moving forward in getting into our home hoping things would get better. We were greeted into our new home with fixes still not being completed and our BRAND NEW AC going out two days into being in our home in the middle of a heat wave. This caused our family to have to be out of the home for about a week until someone was able to come out. Purchasing a home you can’t even occupy to say the least was very heart breaking. I being pregnant and having a toddler could only go home at the end of the night when an 80 degree home was some what bearable. Multiple technicians were sent out causing me to take more time off work. The issue was fixed about a month later. I am mind blown at how a well known Home building company can have their clients in limbo for so long. Making sure to let us know if closing doesn’t go as planned we would be charged. Not once having some kind of management reach out and apologize for all of the inconvenience we had to go through. I would love to recommend this community to family and friends but based on the home buying experience we had I just can’t bring myself to knowingly put someone I care about through that. I am a firm believer in fixing the problem and moving forward. This company has not made an effort to fix the problem. I hope that none of my future neighbors have to endure any of these circumstances that my family did. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Yessica - Thank you for taking time to provide feedback, we are sorry that you were disappointed with the process. We have sent your comments to local representatives for review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Nadim

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Ahmed N.
  • Fredericksburg, VA
  • September 22, 2020

Please do not trust the salesman and the sales management, the are Very and truthful people.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning, we have sent your comments to local team members for review. Thanks for providing feedback, have a good day! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Regretful Homeowner

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Shonda S.
  • Woodbridge, VA
  • August 09, 2020

The practices are unethical. I regret purchasing my home with K. Hovnanian. This was the worst experience.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, we are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience. I've sent your comments to local representatives for their review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating K Hovnanian OVER RATED

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • George G.
  • Madera, CA
  • March 03, 2020

Honestly totally disappointed for a Company that is so called Craftsmanship builders not true I would not recommend KH as for me well to late So do Ur homework research and if u do decide check the insulation in attic

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi George - sorry to hear that you had issues with the craftmanship in your new home. We are sending your comments over to the local team for their review. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Couldnt be more unsatisfied with responsivness to issues!!!!

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Kyle J.
  • Coalinga, CA
  • December 16, 2019

I would never recommend buying a home from K Hovnanian, they will rush you through the home buying process which isn't the worst thing, but once you buy, you're on your own. Hope you're good at home repairs because they are incompetent and unorganized. I wouldn't recommend my worst enemy to buy a home from K Hovnanian. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Kyle - thank you for providing feedback on your experience. We are sorry to hear that you are having some issues. If you would like to email us at customercare@khov.com with details we will pass along to the appropriate local team members. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Rushed, sloppy work. Rude sales representatives.

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Sage G.
  • Lincoln, CA
  • December 03, 2019

Laundry list of issues with the house before we even moved in. Many items still haven't been fixed. Sales reps are great until you give them a deposit. The house was clearly rushed and I am sure we will experience more issues down the road.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Sage - sorry to hear that you are are experiencing issues in your new home. If you would like to email us at customercare@khov.com with more details we can pass along to the appropriate local reps. Thanks! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating High sale points, poor workmanship

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Carmari G.
  • Painesville, OH
  • November 17, 2019

At time of purchase everything sounds perfect: the price, the options, the final product. The selection of structural options is not the worst but not the best. ie. you can add a door to the garage but can’t change the location of that door along the same wall. The selection of interior finishes was good. Our interior designer was excellent at pointing out what options were a good choice. During the pre construction meeting we establish how the process would go and were told we could visit any time we wanted without interfering with the construction process, which is understandable. Construction was ahead of schedule in which you pay the price with the poor workmanship. We paid for upgrades to base trims and cabinets. What we got were scratched cabinets because of poor handling, poor finish on corners on trims. When we pointed it out we were told the final product would look perfect. To not focus on the ugly duck phase of the construction. You can put all the caulk you want but if it’s not cut or installed correctly it will still look bad. And yes the final product looks bad. Windows were installed with defects. If we didn’t point them out and ask for the construction manager to verify with the manufacturer we would still have bad windows. Building materials... we had some studs that didn’t look good and some were cracked. We were told that the cracked ones were going to be fixed by adding a support, we don’t have any evidence this was done, since when it was repaired no pics were taken and sent to us and the drywall was put almost immediately to keep schedule. The stud that looked rotten, we were told it wasn’t to be replaced since it wasn’t a bearing member it was just for drywall purposes. I don’t agree with that but still no change. We selected granite countertops, the supplier got a bad batch, we were notified and a change order was done. Kudos to our interior designer. The poor workmanship in this house can be seen since you enter the front door. The spray painted door has spots on the underseam that you can see wasn’t painted correctly. The base trim inside and outside corners are awful between chipped, not squared, “ fixed” with caulk and painted over leaves a lot to be desired. Some were replaced after pointing out, we could still see the damage caused by the installing crew. Chipped tiles “fixed” with caulk, drywall holes fixed with mud and being painted over skipping the sanding process. This would’ve been a great experience if it wasn’t for the lack of carefulness in workmanship. We pointed all of this and we were simply told it was part of the process and it was what it was, but they “want to make you happy!” We got our windows replaced, and many other things got fixed. Kudos to our construction manager for that. If you are buying from any production builder, USE a realtor! The main things I got from dealing with K.Hov are the following: 1. Build it fast, don’t worry about cosmetics; 2. Build it good enough to pass inspections, don’t worry about cosmetics; 3. Selling to client that visits at home site can happen at any time as long as not interfering with subcontractors and in the presence of K.Hov representative. At times it would take up to a week to get a reply, meanwhile construction is moving forward and client doesn’t get to have a chance to inspect the home; 4. Client is not allowed to receive the house plans, so client has no way to know if everything was built according to the plan; my front patio is off centered by 3 inches. I’m wonder what the plan shows....; 5. Client is being promised house is being inspected on daily basis. Possibly True, but what is being inspected is that the construction process is moving forward in accordance to schedule. Quality inspection, if done, is insufficient, that explains why client finds so many defects; 6. I believe the GKO gives 2 hours time frame to rush client through the whole house. Any house inspector can tell you 2 hours is not enough time to do a proper inspection. I wonder if that’s done intentionally so client doesn’t have enough time to finds defects......; 7. Closing day is scheduled to happen a week after the GKO. Knowing the amount of things that needed to be fixed we knew a week was not going to be enough time to take care of everything,and that’s exactly what happened. We met at closing and the house still had many things that were not taken care of. We were asked if we believed the house was substantially finished and if we could sign off the remaining papers. It that how K. Hov sells homes? I would think the correct way to sell a house is to have everything repaired, including cosmetics, before closing; 8. Now that closing has happened, and I have the keys, I’ve had the unpleasant inconvenience to take time off from work several times to make myself available to let K. Hov subcontractors come in the house to fix things that were noticed before and after closing, for example hot water running into a toilet, kitchen cabinets were not installed according to kitchen design plan, crack in master bedroom ceiling, etc In my opinion we could have avoided all these problems if K.Hov put more effort in quality control and didn’t mind spending some extra cash by hiring extra personnel helping to oversee the construction process, use better workmanship and higher grade material. I had one main request from the beginning: take your time when building my house, so you build it right. Nobody cares, everyone is in a hurry to get the job done and move to the next one, and the client suffers the consequences. I praise the hard work the construction manager, interior designer and sales representative put in, not K.Hov culture. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hello Carmari - thank you very much for providing feedback on your recent home building experience. We are very sorry to read that you did not have a positive experience and are dealing with repairs. If you'd like to email us at customercare@khov.com with your contact information we will send to the appropriate representatives in your area. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Nightmare

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Mark G.
  • Scottsdale, AZ
  • October 10, 2019

We have so many issues with this home. From the beginning with windows in the wrong place to the island in the wrong place and outlets/fire alarms being buried behind drywall after move in! What a horrible experience this has been. We had our bathroom tiled 2x (7k upgrade) not up to standard still! Backsplash tiled 2x still have issues. Upgraded cabinets chipped and scratched due to not being covered. Workers coming in to fix stuff get our carpets dirty every time. Leak in master spa the first night we moved in, leaked into our downstairs on to our hardwood floors! We could go on and on and after talking to neighbors in the complex sounds like this is the norm! Unbelievable this house was $700 and this is what you have to deal with. I will NOT recommend Khov houses to anyone!!! ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Mark - thank you for providing feedback and we apologize that you are experiencing issues in your new home. If you would like to email us at customercare@khov.com with your contact information we can pass along your feedback to the appropriate local representatives. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Disappointed

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Katherine W.
  • RICHMOND, TX
  • April 14, 2021

I am very unhappy with my new home. The sales rep Theory H. Was amazing but that’s where it stopped. The KHov design center is a joke. They send you to this big design center with tons of options except none of them are for you! I wanted simple upgrades and was told no we don’t offer that or no you can’t get that so I had to change out things once I closed. There are cheaper builders that offer way more options. The construction manager has not resolved issues that were brought up before closing over a month ago. They cut a strip out of my cabinet and glued it back together which has now come unglued in less than a month. The cabinet company said they would be out to fix it and did not show up on the appointment date. My backyard is a lake and I have told the construction manager multiple times about it and nothing has been done to correct it. Do not use their security company connect one they are misleading l wasted $600 on connections that were not completed as told and they will not fix the issue as they said “ I misunderstood” and it would be an additional $1500 to correct it. My dishwasher also doesn’t work and has standing water when turned on and Getting GE to come out and service it has been nothing but difficult. Customer service is absolutely horrible after closing. I was also not provided with a paint touch up kit and had to beg for weeks just to get an incomplete set. I would not recommend purchasing a KHov home to anyone in my family or friends. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Katherine! We are very sorry to hear that you're disappointed with your recent home building experience. I've sent your comments to the local team for their review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Worst mistake of my life.

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Brian R.
  • Lorain, OH
  • March 31, 2021

K hovnanian rejected my first attempt. I explained at length why They are easily the worst company I’ve ever encountered.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Brian, we've sent these comments to the local team for review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Everything was good until I signed and the keys were handed over .

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Matthew G.
  • GLENDALE, AZ
  • March 31, 2021

I am so disappointed and disheartened with the Khov construction and customer service team. I purchased a home on February 26, 2021, when I took delivery of my home there was some small minor issues i.e. flickering undercabinet light in the kitchen , and paint touch ups that I was promised would be taken care of in a timely matter that worked around my schedule. Fast forward to today March 26th, I was forced to take time out of my work schedule to allow your teams/trades into my home to “fix” the issues that were already there before I took ownership; those issues have now been furthered as my normally neat and tidy home is neither of those or repaired properly. I was told the work would be competed between 12pm and 4pm, Fast forward to 440 when I witnessed a Sherwin-Williams painter painting one of my interior door is with a can of white spray paint; I politely told Juan I thought it was best that they leave today. After showing him all of the issues that were still in my home that were not attended to even though they had all thought they had been fixed he agreed that there was more damage to my home after they were leaving than there was before they got there. I feel as thought at this point I have done all I can on my end. I have allowed your teams into my home and personal space, and now not only do I have to vacuum mop, and dust everything, but now we have to schedule another time to let more trades in to fix the issues that were worsened today. I have lost time, money and patience, and will do so again when your team/ trades have to come back into my home. Issues; ACrattles, AC blows saw dust and particles out of vents, under cabinet lighting, multiple paint touch ups, broken blinds, doors with ruff patches and excessive over spray, paint drips on walls (4 foot area that is covered with paint drips), carpet bubbles, carpet seams, carpet coming apart at seems, dirty or moldy shower seams, stairwell banister cracking and breaking, scratches and chips in sink/ countertop. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Matthew - we are very sorry to hear that you are experiencing some issues with our construction and customer service teams. I have sent your comments to local reps for their review, have a great day! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating K. Hovnanian® Homes - leak somewhere in drywall that still hasn't been addressed weeks

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Colton M.
  • MAGNOLIA, TX
  • February 08, 2021

leak somewhere in drywall that still hasn't been addressed weeks later Instead of Telling me my gas didn't transfer they just shut it off, so now I have no gas for a day when a simple email I would have fixed it. So now I don't have a way to heat my home on a cold day with kids in the house. I had a confirmation email with a gas company that doesn't service the area I guess, but I had no way to tell. HOA is controlled by the builder, homeowners get 1 vote, every lot they own gives them 3 votes. No matter what change you want done they out number you. I really didn't want to have to write a bad review, but this is just ridiculous. A simple "Hey, the gas is still in our name" call would have made me make an immediate fix. I can't even fathom that they would do this. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Colton, thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your homebuilding experience. We are sorry to hear that you are having some issues that still need to be addressed. I have sent your feedback over to the division for further review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes ... More

Narrow Reviews by Area: