Skip main navigation

K. Hovnanian® Homes

star-rating (1623 reviews in all areas)

What Homeowners Have to Say About K. Hovnanian® Homes

K. Hovnanian® Homes has reputation for building quality new construction homes. Their satisfied homeowners give them an average rating of 4.4 stars for their beautiful floor plans and affordable upgrades, their skilled craftsmanship, and commitment to customer service on each house they build. You can read all of K. Hovnanian® Homes’s 1623 homeowner reviews to learn why they are the right team to build your new home.

4.4 out of 5 stars
in all areas

star-rating

1623 Reviews - 125 Communities

5 ★(1102)

4 ★(249)

3 ★(132)

2 ★(63)

1 ★(77)

Quality 4.3

Trustworthiness 4.4

Value 4.5

Responsiveness 4.4

star-rating House is made out of poor quality and workmanship

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Brentwood, CA
  • April 07, 2021

Quality of workmanship is so poor, you can tell they did everything so quick or in hurry that they do not care what the outcome or quality is. The sad part is, if, you make a request for them to fix any issues, it takes forever. Forever is not an overexageration, as a matter of fact up until now my issues them are not fixed yet, countless follow ups and they do not care! All they want is to hand off the key to you and whatever issues you found prior, is full of promises. We will do this and do that.... if you do purchase a home with them, make sure you have them fix your issues prior to finalizing everything or else, like me I have to constatly request for them to fix making you the one asking them for favors, were it should hVe been their responsibility from the beginning, if only they did right. ... More

star-rating K. Hovnanian® Homes - The negative side of my experience is the house I really wanted

Quality star-rating 5

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 5

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Sheila R.
  • Van Alstyne, TX
  • January 19, 2021

The negative side of my experience is the house I really wanted had an appraisal issue and I had to select another property. This property was not completed, so my family had to spend three extra weeks in a hotel! Once we moved in, we fell in love with our house! I love the finished product. The kitchen is awesome, and everyone has their own space. ... More

star-rating Review of KHOV Home Buying Process

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 5

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Anonymous
  • KATY, TX
  • July 08, 2020

The real estate agent Greg was great. Although, we have experienced many calls to Matt to have the contractors fix our floor/countertop/master shower. Matt the construction manager is attentive to our questions and requests. KHOV Mortgage was not the same story. ... More

star-rating Great staff from the sales office to the building crew. ever again.

Quality star-rating 5

Trustworthiness star-rating 5

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Diane B.
  • Yorkville, IL
  • May 26, 2020

Great staff from the sales office to the building crew. I would never finance through Khov ever again. Terrible experience with that side of the business! Submitted paperwork several times; always had to resubmit additional paperwork; staff doesn’t return calls or emails. Was a real pain to work through the financial portion of this transaction. Not worth it to use their financing-and our loan was sold to Chase Bank the day after we closed. ... More

star-rating Overall Experience

Quality star-rating 5

Trustworthiness star-rating 5

Value star-rating 5

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Jose V.
  • Davenport, FL
  • January 28, 2020

In the beginning it was a great expérience but quickly went down hill. I am à Sales Manager in the auto industry for 15 years. Understanding your customer need and wants should. be a priority for Amy one in sales. Wé thought ois realtor really understood what we wanted but as time went on we réaliser that she just dis not listen To us. Wé had infomed Her what was important To us. We trusted her. When the situation was confronted her answer to us was that you should have been aware because you signed the contract. we understand that we signed the contract and we also trusted her into assuring giving us what we asked for. I believe we should have got options to correct the situation and it should have been communication between the design center in the realtor to assure that the customer got what they wanted and if there was any obstacles we could have all worked it out. knowing what I budget was it should have been kept in mind so the customer could have been informed where they stood with the cost but unfortunately that did not happen either so I had to come up with a significant amount of money at closing. The only upside to our experience as we were purchasing the home is Carl the head of construction for our home he was kind he was informative and he was personable he did an outstanding job and to date he is still driving around the community and asking how everything is going it's unfortunate that the real estate agent and Carl you not work together when it comes to selecting the plan of the home. Carl was very thorough when he reviewed the plans with us in the construction with us and always kept us updated every Friday about what needed to be done and what I got completed. Carl get 5 stars. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Jose - thanks for providing feedback on your experience. We are sorry to read that you were not pleased with some things and hope that everything was resolved to your satisfaction. If you have issues in the future and need assistance please feel free to reach out at customercare@khov.com and we can pass along to the appropriate team members to assist. Thanks! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Could Have Been Better

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Judith S.
  • Morristown, NJ
  • April 07, 2020

The design and upgrade selection process was very aggravating. The Design Center manager failed to show up at our appointment. This was after a long trip for us and friends who joined us. When we did look at the available items and materials, we were very disappointed with the remaining choices. We contracted with First Choice Electrical for low-voltage wiring of audio/visual and cable. During construction the house was wired incorrectly and had to be rewired. After moving in we found more errors in wiring. It took much complaining and six visits to correct!! I've heard complaints from other homeowners about First Choice. ... More

star-rating Sales/Construction Team Great. Mortgage division POOR.

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Anonymous
  • Northlake, TX
  • January 29, 2020

Sales office at Canyon Falls is great. Tanya and her team are great, detailed oriented and answered all our questions. Even though there were some construction delays and our closing had to be pushed back twice, the construction manager was in constant contact with us and were able to work with us considering we were closing on Christmas eve. Even with a new construction manager Cody coming on board, he was able to answer all our questions and complete our asks. The main issue we had with this whole buying process was with the mortgage division of KHOV. There are way too many people contacting us. We counted at least 8 different KHOV mortgage team members calling and emailing us about different documents they needed, but never passing the baton to the next person or at least informing us that so many people will be contacting us. In today's world of fraud and scams, how are we supposed to know who is legit or not. There should only be one point of contact from the mortgage division. Then the closing and walk through meetings that the mortgage division set up was completely different than what I had agreed to with Cody, so we had to get involved again and sort out their communication issues. Now come time to pay first mortgage payment and there's no proper notification to all parties on the mortgage. Immediately after the first payment, KHOV is selling it off to Wells Fargo, so now we have to setup a whole other payment channel. All this because our old house hasn't sold yet. Do NOT work with KHOV mortgage division. Worst experience ever and still continuing. ... More

star-rating K. Hovnanian® Homes - Make sure you understand that when they tell you that you have

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Gerald G.
  • Mont Belvieu, TX
  • January 21, 2020

Make sure you understand that when they tell you that you have x values in upgrades that they are going to add that to your final sale price. Nothing is free.

star-rating Cornerstone

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 5

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Tara J.
  • Lorain, OH
  • November 21, 2019

Sales manager (Marlene) and construction manager (Keith) were great. A few bumps along the way, but that’s to be expected. The recommended mortgage broker was a NIGHTMARE. Would not recommend him to anyone.

star-rating K. Hovnanian® Homes - Overall a good experience.

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 5

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Anonymous
  • Lorain, OH
  • April 08, 2021

Overall a good experience. There were some minor hiccups and misleading details, but not that big of a deal in the end. I feel I got a great home for a great price.

star-rating The HOA issues are horrible

Quality star-rating 5

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Adrianna P.
  • NEEDVILLE, TX
  • April 08, 2021

The house itself is great. The project manager Javier is amazing. He is responsive and helpful. The biggest issue is the HOA. They are non responsive. None of us who closed received the documents. I am still waiting to get the finance docs and have asked for almost 2 weeks. They have a $250 fee to put in a request which is ridiculous. Especially since I couldn’t even get the documents. No fence and no grass is part of the sale of the house and it is expensive to put one in and you have to pay the $250 to request it on top of the price of the fence. With no guidance mind you. No internet access. No clue when we will get it. I am happy with the build of the house for the most part. Minor issues that are being taken care of but that is normal. Be aware of what it will cost once you move in. ... More

star-rating K. Hovnanian® Homes - We enjoyed working with John.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Holly S.
  • Lodi, CA
  • March 02, 2021

We enjoyed working with John. He made the experience enjoyable, he's knowledgeable, trustworthy and funny. We were disappointed and frustrated with quite of few things. Some people were very disorganized and rushed. Made lots of mistakes and didn't listen very well on the walk through. Its been over a month and we still have m People coming in to fix things.. the supervisor Ricardo is wonderful. Even though he's visiting alot because there are problems. He at least listens and solves it right away. We got our home early but it would of been better to have it done right. Things just felt very rushed and sloppy.. from being rushed to pick up grades and rushed to sign paperwor ... More

star-rating K. Hovnanian® Homes - After a number of unforeseen events we greatly appreciated the

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Lawrence S.
  • Ranson, WV
  • December 08, 2019

After a number of unforeseen events we greatly appreciated the quick response and professionalism extended to my wife and I by Karen, Tim and Dale

star-rating Second time writing this!

Quality star-rating 5

Trustworthiness star-rating 5

Value star-rating 5

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Kim W.
  • Lorain, OH
  • October 07, 2019

So the staff determined that my first review had to be redone because I named directly who was the problem. Well how else can you fix the problem if you can’t identify it? Let’s just say we are extremely happy with the house, but completely unhappy with the loan process. The financing process. The unnecessary stress process from there person handling the finances. I hope this is better and complies with your restrictions. ... More

star-rating K. Hovnanian® Homes - Overall experience was great.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Zachary A.
  • Patterson, CA
  • April 09, 2021

Overall experience was great. They were honest, quick to respond, and very helpful. There were many things that needed to fixed after we moved in. We still continue to find things that are wrong with our home and it seemed like they rushed to build the house and made many errors. As far as fixing the errors they do an excellent job to make sure everything is how you want it. ... More

star-rating K. Hovnanian® Homes - Quality of homes is good.

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 5

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Vasudev B.
  • Fort Worth, TX
  • January 05, 2021

Quality of homes is good. Excited to build memories.

star-rating Every corner was cut.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 5

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Jose G.
  • Fowler, CA
  • September 01, 2020

Great people, OK product and bad workmanship.

star-rating Some Great, Some Terrible

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 5

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Christopher T.
  • Ranson, WV
  • July 15, 2020

Let me start off by saying the sales process in the beginning was fantastic. K. Hov had a fantastic sales representative that really took care of us and made us feel like part of the family. The whole process was great. We got to see our house every step of the way being built. They let us walk through whenever we wanted with very short notice. It was very transparent very the day we went to look at our dream house/lot. At the end of the process is when it became a real show. Our closing was delayed due to permitting issues with the city. We finally got to sign, almost a month after our original move in date to only find out an easement was added to our back yard which only allows us to use 50% of the back yard because of drainage concerns and incorrect grading by K. Hov on the lot. One week into our new home, the entire finished basement flooded with community sewage. It was found by the city that a builder had blocked the main sewer line with concrete and construction debris. Again, K. Hov quality control person was very responsive and worked through the pandemic very well to keep us updated with when they were coming to repair the basement damage. They sent someone out to clean within a couple hours, the plumber was contacted within an hour and the city showed up within ten minutes of the flood. The employees of K. Hov definitely deserve better management from the top. When I contacted K. Hov president to express my displeasure, he didn't seem to care. He wanted me to go through my homeowners insurance when it was clearly their fault. I threatened to sue and he told me to go ahead. Very rude. I expressed my concern about buying our dream home and not being able to use the yard and he said thats something you should have looked into before signing the papers. The employees should go work for a company who cares. We have been fighting with the builder and the city now for almost three months to get the drainage issue in the back resolved before the basement ends up flooding again. Again, great upfront process and great employees. They just work for a president who doesn't care once he gets his money from the homeowners. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Morning Christopher - thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We have sent your comments over to the local team for their review, have a good day! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Everything was great except for our salesman

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Jr., G.
  • PASADENA, TX
  • June 02, 2020

Salesman was not up front about easement or telephone wires, told me I could fit a pool but quotes from pool companies stated that I couldn’t due to size of easement.

star-rating Be wary of the trades

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Anonymous
  • Millsboro, DE
  • May 31, 2020

In and of themselves, KHovnanian is an exceptional company to do business with when considering purchasing a newly constructed home. That said, some of the tradesmen outside of the company that are involved in the construction leave quite a bit to be desired. Shoddy work caused us to have to contact Home Services numerous times within the first 6 weeks of moving into our new home which was frustrating. That said, KHov was incredibly responsive and corrected the issues in a timely fashion. We do recommend them as a builder, just watch the outside tradesman like a hawk if possible. ... More

star-rating Excellent service, terrible workmanship

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 5

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Garth L.
  • Winter Park, FL
  • January 28, 2020

Excellent service, terrible workmanship

star-rating Overall bad experience

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Joy C.
  • Olmsted Township, OH
  • January 23, 2020

Overall bad experience building a new home. The mortgage and title companies they make you use lack severely in communicating with their customer. The sales consultant, design consultant, and construction manager, Sarah, Jocelyn, and Joe, lacked empathy to issues we had and at times could be down right rude. We have been in our house for a little over a month now and are having contractors come pretty much every weekly to fix issues we’re finding. I’m sure this is not uncommon for a newly built home but I feel this whole process could be improved if the customer is allowed to come and visit their home until the day they get their keys. I personally would never build with k hov again after this experience. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Joy - thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience and are having a lot of issues. If you would like to email us at customercare@khov.com we can send along your concerns to the appropriate local team members in an effort to help. Thank you! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Good but not great

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Anonymous
  • Richmond, TX
  • January 22, 2020

Overall the sales price was nice. Professionalism and manners of staff not so great. They do not replace appliances or major fixtures in home even if needing to be replaced.

star-rating check

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Anonymous
  • Winter Garden, FL
  • January 07, 2020

After buying I saw that it was not functionally designed, the materials are regular. the lighting of the complex is very bad, they designed the complex to have no visit. They say things to sell and then do not comply with the provisions.

star-rating Great home - avoid the finance company

Quality star-rating 5

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Christopher R.
  • Houston, TX
  • December 16, 2019

Love the home and the workmanship - Finance company not so great on rates. You can do better, by shopping the loan. Do not lock in with them, until you are sure on rates.

Narrow Reviews by Area: