K. Hovnanian® Homes

star-rating (1046 reviews in all areas)

What Homeowners Have to Say About K. Hovnanian® Homes

K. Hovnanian® Homes has reputation for building quality new construction homes. Their satisfied homeowners give them an average rating of 4.4 stars for their beautiful floor plans and affordable upgrades, their skilled craftsmanship, and commitment to customer service on each house they build. You can read all of K. Hovnanian® Homes’s 1046 homeowner reviews to learn why they are the right team to build your new home.

4.4 out of 5 stars
in all areas

star-rating

1046 Reviews - 149 Communities

5 ★(719)

4 ★(158)

3 ★(80)

2 ★(41)

1 ★(48)

Quality 4.3

Trustworthiness 4.5

Value 4.5

Responsiveness 4.5

star-rating Unhappy Buyer!

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Horace B.
  • Oswego, IL
  • March 03, 2020

My entire Home should have all Bronze Light Fixtures and Hardware, instead it has Silver Light Fixtures and Bronze Hardware, That's not what I order for my Home.. everything I ordered was Bronze, What A Joke!

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good afternoon! Sorry to hear that you had some issues in your new home with the fixtures and hardware. We are forwarding your concerns over to the local representatives for their review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Not the best in workmanship and materials or value for price paid

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Winnifred H.
  • Scottsdale, AZ
  • January 07, 2020

We were very disappointed with our new home. The workmanship and materials were not what we expected for the price we paid for our new K. Hovnanian Home. Some of the issues -- the paint was thin, the carpet and pad are low quality even though we paid for an upgrade; the seams on the carpet are sticking out in most of the doorways; the grout work is very poor quality; a couple of the bathroom sinks were chipped and the repair work was shoddy at best; the frames of the windows and sliding glass doors are stained with paint/sealant and were not cleaned; and the house had not been thoroughly cleaned prior to our moving in. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Winnifred - sorry that you are not pleased with the workmanship and materials that were used in your new home. If you continue to have issues please feel free to contact us at customercare@khov.com and we can pass along to the local team members. Thanks! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Sketchy Sales

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Philip R.
  • Morristown, NJ
  • September 07, 2020

The people I worked with were extremely sketchy - first, blatantly lying about the overall price of the unit and not disclosing that the price included incentives that required me to use their mortgage company. Second, including items (and costs) on the spec sheet which were NOT included in the finished home. As far as I can tell, the home seems well-built, but any buyers need to be EXTREMELY diligent in asking questions about the price, what’s included, and double/triple-checking all spec sheets and items included in the home to ensure they are getting what they paid for. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Morning Philip - thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your experience. We have sent your comments to local reps for review, have a good day! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Cheaped out on a lot of items

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Rancho Murieta, CA
  • August 27, 2020

No spigot in the backyard. How are we to water our plants. Put the recycled water in the center of the walkway so we need to pay someone to fix it. Cheap paint that need to be upgraded, a lot of things offered by other housing developments not offered. People we complain to have to power to do anything their are held by what they say they can and can't do and that is to cheap out and tell the customer they can't do it. Think twice before purchasing a KHov house. People have written to the top and have been ignored. Google to see what I am talking about. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning, thank you for providing feedback. We have sent your comments to local representatives for their review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Below Average

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Kailyn W.
  • Arnold, MD
  • June 02, 2020

The homes are beautiful but there is not a great attention to detail. I don’t think buying a home should feel like is you v them but that was the overall feeling I had. Very limited knowledge of the builders contract on the sales side and sloppy craftsmanship inside. It feels as if there is very limited quality control on both ends. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thank you for providing feedback, your comments have been sent over to the local representatives for review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Unhappy Customer

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Rachel M.
  • Fowler, CA
  • March 31, 2020

Nice neighborhood, However, lacks the quality of work performed on the home (such as poor and incomplete paintwork, paint bubbles in the master bathroom walls, left cigarette butts through the front and backyard, incomplete landscaping, jobs incomplete throughout the home, trash left during building the home, and lack of consistency performed), My list of the items needing to fix continues to grow. I regret my purchase and would sell if I could. Sincerely, Unhappy with my home purchase ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Rachel - thank you for providing feedback on your recent experience. We are sorry to hear that you are not happy with the quality of work and will send your comments over to local representatives for their review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating New Townhouse in the Retreat at Millstone

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Melanie T.
  • Millsboro, DE
  • March 05, 2020

Devin in the sales department was amazing. He went above and beyond to answer questions and assist in every way possible. He always made me valued as a customer. I was reluctant to buy another KHov product due to the awful experience with my first home in Plantation Lakes. Even after 4 years in that home, I never had a 1 year walk thru. This townhouse was purchased because it is what I could afford as a single mother. KHov has the potential to be a great company, but they cut corners when hiring skilled craftsman. I have crooked walls because of drywall finishing being done sloppily. I have nail pops in a row all the way down almost every wall. This just goes to show you that they are in a hurry to slap things together. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Melanie - thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent experience. We will pass your comments along to local representatives for their review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Poor craftsmanship

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Richwood, TX
  • January 14, 2020

When going through looking at the framing, noticed a lot of the studs were spliced together or has a secondary board braced next to it. Lots of bad cuts where joints had open gaps. Boards were splintered or cracked and were used with support instead of being replaced. Not the quality we were expecting. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Sorry to hear that you are not happy with the quality in your new home. If you would like to email us at customercare@khov.com with your information we can send your concerns to the appropriate local team members. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Great sales team, Few Options, Poor warrantee service

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Rachel S.
  • Roseville, CA
  • October 29, 2019

The sales team were wonderful to work with and were very responsive through the sales process. However, the options offered by K. Hovnanian were far below industry standards. For example: it was extra for the electric garage door opener, it was extra for the man door in the garage, it was an extra for the 220 in the laundry room (we received it only after we demanded to get it put in) and it was extra for ceiling fans. All of the items listed were included as not an extra in our last two new home purchases, and were included in other models we toured. Additionally, we had to find the paint colors and obtain touch up paint as it was not included in our package. That is unheard of! The follow up from the warrantee and construction team is very poor. We have had to paint areas that we pointed out in our punch walk and there is still blue tape on other areas that has never been followed up on since. I am in the Construction industry, and with the exception of your sales force, we have found the design, construction and warrantee teams performance below standard when compared to others. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Rachel, thank you for providing feedback on your recent homebuilding process. We are very sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the options offered and the follow up from our homeowner service and construction teams. If you have any other issues or need assistance please feel free to contact us at customercare@khov.com Thank you! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating 2020 Verrado

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Brian A.
  • Buckeye, AZ
  • June 02, 2020

Good communication during the build process. Drastic change in customer service after closing. Very disappointed. Wouldn’t recommend based on post close customer service alone.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Sorry to hear that you would not recommend based on the post close customer service. Your comments will be forwarded to local representatives for their review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Still waiting for issues to addressed from initial walk through.

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Luke L.
  • Richmond, TX
  • June 02, 2020

We are still waiting for issues that need to be addressed from the initial walk-through and it’s been over a months sense because the house. New superintendent is contacting us and he seems like is Trying to address the issues that were promised to be fixed before closing. The hard wood floor and bath- kitchen cabinets still need to be fixed. The reason for giving bad reviews for workmanship is because I have to replace a door knob, have to paint almost 5 door because it’s pealing from the bottom( this was’nt addressed are the at the walk through, the metal overnight on the upstairs mirror was chipped which we saw on the closing day, all door frames are not sealed at the bottom, garage doesn’t have wall base we’re we found to mice and other pest, AC is making too much noice and toilet water supply lines from building is sticking out from wall(it not installed properly. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Luke - sorry to read that you are still waiting on issues to be resolved, we are sending your comments to local representatives for review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Trust but verify

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anita D.
  • Richmond, TX
  • March 10, 2020

Our experience is different than most as this is a second home and our primary home is out of state. With that, we found several pieces of the processes were less than satisfactory. For example, the cabinetry in the home is unacceptable. We did not realize this until after closing. Because the poor quality of the cabinets, we are now remodeling the entire kitchen. We took every upgrade possible with the home, I am not sure why were not told the widest kitchen drawer would be 12". Perhaps if I had asked more questions during the design phase, this would have been uncovered. I also asked the building supervisor to leave the towel rods and not install, as I had ideas of where I wanted them placed and did not want to repair sheet rock and paint. After viewing the home, none of the rods were left. I've called and he says he will re-order and bring by .... waiting. In addition, we closed 6 weeks ago and there are several punch list items that have not been corrected by the team. Again, all of this is extended due to second home and we are only able to visit 1-2 x a month on the weekends. The overall construction and quality of the home is good - however, you need to be knowledgeable about construction and a sqeaky wheel to get resolutions. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Anita - thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent experience. Sorry to hear that some of our processes were less than satisfactory for you. I will pass along your concerns to the appropriate local representatives for their review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating K. Hovnanian® Homes - I was disappointed.

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Saul R.
  • Plano, IL
  • November 19, 2019

I was disappointed. While I'm happy to be in a new home. The service and responsiveness was awful. I think I have gotten better service at bestbuy when looking for a DVD player. I was pretty much called as liar when I brought up issues with the build and workmanship was not the best. I found doors barely hanging on by a screw because hinges were loose. Garage door not centered. Stairway to basement butchered up. And the response to these issues were not addressed in a satisfactory manner. Especially since it's a purchase of 250k!... like I mentioned, I get better service at a store buying a $50 appliance ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Saul - thank you for providing feedback. We are sorry to hear that you are not pleased with the service you received. If you continue to have issues and need assistance please feel free to contact us at customercare@khov.com and we can pass along to the appropriate local representatives for you. Thanks! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Poor Attention to Details

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Jill W.
  • Hollister, CA
  • October 10, 2019

This builder cuts corners and uses the cheapest subcontractors. It shows in the finished product. Plastic push-pull shut-off valves? C'mon, that's substandard. We also have gaps in recessed lighting and cabinets and poorly hung doors. Even our A/C unit was installed incorrectly. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Jill - thank you for providing feedback on your homebuilding experience. We are sorry to hear that you are having issues with the subcontractors working in your home. If you would like to email us at customercare@khov.com with your contact information we can pass along your concerns to local reps in your area. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating New Home

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Merced, CA
  • October 09, 2019

Check every detail of the house before you sign off.

star-rating Not the best home buying experience.

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Andrew L.
  • Rancho Murieta, CA
  • August 19, 2020

Sales rep was extremely rude, lots of build quality issues.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not have the best home buying experience, we have sent your comments to the local team for review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Disappointing

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Roanoke, TX
  • July 16, 2020

We moved in a month ago and have had numerous issues. Two electrical problems, one where the fire alarms weren't wired. Our AC has been out twice and then was also not wrapped so blowing into the attic. Our backyard doesn't drain properly. One of the drains on our sinks had been kicked and knocked off so water was draining onto the floor. Cabinets missing chunks, fence falling off, back door not catching. All was fixed but response times were terrible especially for AC and most of the companies that came out to fix things left a mess and/or showed up way outside of the scheduled time window causing me to miss work. Everyone super kind people but very disappointed with so many things wrong in a brand new house in a month. Have worked to make things right. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thank you for taking time to provide feedback, we are very sorry to hear that you are disappointed. We have passed your comments along to local representatives for their review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Not Satisfied

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Bhabjot B.
  • Fowler, CA
  • February 27, 2020

Just one phone jack for landline and fax in kitchen, am I supposed to keep the fax on kitchen counter? Fax wont work without landline. Told by Lloyd this is the new standard. Was never told or informed that I would not be getting a place to plug in my electrical dryer. Surprised when I tried to dry my clothes and last minute had to buy a new gas dryer. Also told new standard. Rude people involved in the process overall from Construction to Sales. Only person on our side was Saul, who ended up leaving company. 3 different sales reps throughout home buying process. I wonder why. Bad paint job inside and outside. Messed up our hose bib placement. Work not done cleanly. They have the key they entered our house even after we recieved our keys without informing us or asking. Very rude. Our stuff was all in the living room, could have gone missing and we wouldn't know. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! We are sorry to hear about the issues you experienced in your new home. We will forward your comments to our local representatives for their review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Customer service is over after you sign!

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Oswego, IL
  • November 04, 2019

The sales team is all smiles when you are considering buying a home. They make you feel very welcome and they also commit to delivery dates that they aren't going to make. The date on the contract means nothing. The construction manager will appear super nice, and deliver late, all for the sake of so-called quality. The house looks good to the naked eye, but there are several poor design choices, even when it come to placing an air vent above the Master Bedroom's door, therefore compromising privacy for the owner(s). They might as well be an open window constantly blowing air in the Master Bath. There is a vent that exhaust to the roof, making noise anytime the wind blows. Of course this is not featured in the model homes, bc you wouldn't buy it! Highly disappointed with the upgrade to a third car garage, only to get a 2.5 car garage, given only a clown car can fit in the other side of my garage. The only helpful person thus far, post signing, is the Warranty Manager, but there's nothing they can do re: my real issues with the build. Lastly, beware of the design center. They will try to sell you the moon, stars and the sun. They will also ask if you want ceiling fans, which basically means do you want ceiling lights, bc everyone only has ceiling fans as lighting, right? No! ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you are disappointed in your experience. If you'd like to email us at customercare@khov.com with your contact information we can pass along to the local reps in your area. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Poor construction quality and finishes

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Michelle H.
  • Lincoln, CA
  • July 17, 2020

I closed escrow on my new home 5/26. From the day I got the keys the house was not move-in ready. I trusted the builder to have completed the items needed to be fixed in the home visit new as I had purchased. However, not only were all the items not repaired but new issues arose and now seven weeks in the house I still have blue tape everywhere marking items that have not been resolved. From the cracked/split baseboards, AC upstairs blowing hot air, wood cracked on stairs, ceiling bubble throughout the kitchen to the garage door being hung incorrectly which caused the paint to scrape off to metal on both sides and the stucco outside cracked in several places. I’ve been extremely patient and reached out to over 17 members with the KHOV team Asking for assistance. At this point no one has taken ownership to make it right. I’m extremely disappointed in the build and finishes of the home given the price point. One would expect more from the builder as they pride themselves on quality. I’m ready to take further action if someone doesn’t take ownership and assist with my issues in a timely manner. I look forward to hearing from someone within the company at a leadership level to step in and make this right. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Michelle - sorry to hear that you are having issues getting repairs completed. In an effort to help, I have forwarded your comments over to the local reps for their review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Lot 70

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Jocelyn S.
  • Olmsted Township, OH
  • December 11, 2019

Sales was amazing!! Design was great!!! Everything after that was awful. No one was on the same page, responsiveness was not timely at all nor was the care of the customer...who is funding the whole project! There was no way the customer could make any changes but if the builder made a change there was no communication regarding it to the customer. Builder was more loyal to contractors who had an extremely low level skill than they were for the customer. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Jocelyn - thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your experience. Sorry that you had some issues with the responsiveness of your local team. If you continue to have any issues or need further assistance please feel free to contact us at customercare@khov.com
Thank you! khovnanianhomes
... More

star-rating Decent Home, Poor Execution

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Aldie, VA
  • November 02, 2019

We had some high expectations on our purchase of this home, but it was met with poor execution, poor supervision on the trade labor, and poor follow up to correct issues. This wasn't all bad, but if you are buying from this group, then make sure you have the ability to watch each step of the process closely as you will quickly get frustrated with the execution if it's not supervised properly. If executed correctly, it could be a wonderful home. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi - thanks for providing your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your expectations were not satisfied with your new home. If you'd like to provide your contact information to customercare@khov.com we can send to the appropriate local representatives. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Buyer do your homework and be on top of EVERYTHING!!!

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Donald K.
  • Bel Air, MD
  • October 31, 2019

Salesman was horrible. Lied to us about many things and failed to offer us any options including lights. For the price we paid we expected a lot more out of the house. We moved in and the house has many flaws that still need to be fixed. The carelessness in building the house could have been dealt with if they took the time when building the house. We were told they focus on 3 houses at a time but that wasn't true. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Donald - thank you for providing feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your sales consultant and that you are finding flaws that need to be corrected. We hope that things are soon repaired to your satisfaction. If you continue to have issues please feel free to contact us at customercare@khov.com and we can pass along your concerns to the appropriate local representatives. Thank you! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating KHV Loan Application and Purchase

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Edward M.
  • Haslet, TX
  • March 11, 2020

The whole loan application was a total nightmare and we only with KNV because of the home credit offered provided we took a loan through them. Every week for 4-5 weeks we were asked to provide additional documents starting with 2 yrs of tax returns including 1099s; 2 yrs of checking, savings, and retirement accounts and then they wanted copies of the initial retirement letter of 12 yrs ago stating date and monthly payment; and in addition, a letter stating why we were selling our legal residence and moving to TX. The whole process took several emails, phone calls, and mailing of original documents. We would never do this again and would think twice of purchasing a home as well. Thank you ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good afternoon! Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback. Sorry that you did not have a good mortgage experience, we are going to send your comments over to their office for review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Untrustworthy Sales Agents

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Anonymous
  • Winters, CA
  • January 30, 2020

My experience with the K.Hovnanian construction foreman (superintendent, I assume) has been great, and the warranty folks have proven to be reliable, thus far. Both the warranty folks and lead foreman have proven to be courteous, helpful and responsive to home owners. My experience with the office sales agent(s) was good in the beginning but a few weeks prior to closing the trust that had been built was completely shattered - this breakdown of trust sits squarely on sales agents shoulders as it was discovered that a mandatory addendum, solar panel addendum, that should have been presented during the initial signing of the purchase agreement was withheld and then presented a few weeks prior to closing. This issue created a lot of heartache/stress on my end and what should have been one of the happiest experiences of my life turned into a nightmare - lots of sleepless nights, anxiety, anger and sadness; all of it unnecessary and avoidable had the sales agents been honest and upfront. What's worse is no sincere apology or offer to make right what had been wronged was provided. This negative experience ruined my "Golden Key" moment! Picking up the key to my home should have been happy and celebratory, instead it filled me with dread and anxiety because I had to pick up the key from the sales office which meant dealing directly with the sales agent(s) who made the latter half of my home buying experience miserable!! That was especially sad because I will never get that moment back!! ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good afternoon, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had some issues with your sales consultant that has created some stress for you during this time. We hope now that you are moved in, you will be able to enjoy your new home. If you do find that you are having continual issues please feel free to contact us at customercare@khov.com and we can pass along to the appropriate local representatives. khovnanianhomes ... More

Narrow Reviews by Area: