K. Hovnanian® Homes

star-rating (1046 reviews in all areas)

What Homeowners Have to Say About K. Hovnanian® Homes

K. Hovnanian® Homes has reputation for building quality new construction homes. Their satisfied homeowners give them an average rating of 4.4 stars for their beautiful floor plans and affordable upgrades, their skilled craftsmanship, and commitment to customer service on each house they build. You can read all of K. Hovnanian® Homes’s 1046 homeowner reviews to learn why they are the right team to build your new home.

4.4 out of 5 stars
in all areas

star-rating

1046 Reviews - 149 Communities

5 ★(719)

4 ★(158)

3 ★(80)

2 ★(41)

1 ★(48)

Quality 4.3

Trustworthiness 4.5

Value 4.5

Responsiveness 4.5

star-rating Lacking in construction quality

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Casey M.
  • Mountain House, CA
  • December 03, 2019

My responses reflect the nature of construction and the workmanship provided. We have had numerous warranty issues and found multiple points of careless installation practices. If it wasn't for your sales team and their commitment to deliver on good customer service and product, much of our issues would have gone unaddressed with "canned" responses from our designated home warranties manager. The price we paid for the home is not reflective in the product delivered or the care after the home was turned over. I have purchased a new home in the past from a national builder and K Hovnanian's competitor and did not have the number of issues I am experiencing with this home. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Casey - thank you very much for providing feedback. Sorry to hear that you are experiencing some warranty issues, and hope things are resolved quickly. If you continue to have issues and need assistance, feel free to contact us at customercare@khov.com and we will pass along to your local homeowner service team. Thanks! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating K. Hovnanian® Homes - The property was turned over to me with outside water drainage

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Janet R.
  • Streetsboro, OH
  • October 15, 2019

The property was turned over to me with outside water drainage problems. I am not happy.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Janet - sorry that you are having some outside drainage issues. If you continue to have problems feel free to email us at customercare@khov.com and we can send to the appropriate local team members. Thanks! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating K. Hovnanian® Homes - Stuckle on boarders of house are very pourly made.

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Luis C.
  • Coalinga, CA
  • May 14, 2020

Stuckle on boarders of house are very pourly made. My son bumped in to it with hand bars from his bike and tour off a chunk. Seals around front door and garage doors have folded in as well and dont seal like supposed to.

star-rating You Get What You Get

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Craig T.
  • Pasadena, TX
  • February 11, 2020

This is not a custom home, I repeat, this is not a custom home. They build them as fast as they can and try to cover up as much as possible. You have to be thorough in your own inspections and stay on top of the contractor to make sure the issues actually get fixed. ... More

star-rating Lovely home; not so lovely backyard

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Susan M.
  • Magnolia, DE
  • April 30, 2020

Sales team and crew were responsive and helpful prior to closing. Closing process (even with pandemic restrictions) was quite smooth. However, one month after closing our backyard is still nothing but dirt...except after it rains when it becomes a swamp. Very unhappy with responsiveness of the developer and builder to complete the grading and sod on the property. ... More

star-rating Disappointing management

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Cory P.
  • Painesville, OH
  • April 14, 2020

Our project managers made this a negative experience. Issues came up and it took longer than expected for them to be resolved. It was clear that nobody checked the work before our walk through because we had to point out major and minor issues, I thought that was there job and we were supposed to walk through to make sure everything looked good. One major issue is our garage door wouldn’t shut all the way and did not open or close properly and this was brushed off that it was fine. We weren’t able to use the hand rail on the stairs without it giving us splinters it was so rough. The stone on the fireplace was not finished. Our front door did not open or close properly. I also don’t think it should be the homeowners job to inspect every single room for paint mistakes and every single window to make sure they open easily. Issues were also brought up at the walk through that either weren’t addressed or they were addressed after we moved in. We were also told a cleaning crew had been in even though the floors were covered in dirt. My husband was told in person we received a new furnace filter but the one we have was never replaced with a new one prior to moving in (still hasn’t been replaced). On top of that after we moved in it took them about two weeks to move a portapotty off of our property. I had brought this up to them about a week after moving in and it took multiple texts asking it for it to be moved before anything was actually done. Our managers could have easily moved this themselves after being told once since they walk past it everyday, but a few weeks went by before moving it 10 feet across the street. Pleased with our home, but not pleased by the way these mangers blew concerns off they were advised of and the lack of care they had. hopefully they learn how to prepare future homes before a walk thru and cater to the buyer considering how much money were all spending on these homes. ... More

star-rating Lazy craftmenship & horrible unleveled 2nd floor

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Ysabel T.
  • Boca Raton, FL
  • December 03, 2019

So its now been 35 days since our closing and we have numerous aka punch list items that have not been addressed that we all supposed to be completed in 21 days. But our only communication is done when we reach out to them. The 2nd level of our home is so warped & un-level that the company we hired to install our engineered wood floor has told us its impossible to get the new floors even with out bumps due to the ply wood that is warped from rain & being installed to tightly. So after spending 458k & putting down $300k with the expectation of demoing in another $50k to get the home how we want it, it's now looking like we are fixing the builders issue to correct the home. Also we have found soda bottles with soda in them behind our bathroom walls & water bottles filled with chewing tobacco behind the walls. Yes we are redoing the bathroom tiles ourselves since all the high gloss tiles were installed with scratches all over them..... Total nightmare! ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Ysabel - thank you for providing feedback. Sorry to hear that you are experiencing some issues in getting repair work completed. If you would like to send an email to us at customercare@khov.com with more details we can send to your local homeowner service team. Thank you! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Biggest concern was actual financing of home

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Emiliano M.
  • Glendale, AZ
  • September 15, 2020

Many of the frustrations from our home purchase came from the financing of the home itself. We were voiced that we would be saving 7k off the price of our home by going through their mortgage lender, and ultimately it was a disastrous experience. I understand wholeheartedly that when selling a home and buying another, there will be many more stressors involved than our first home purchase where our main concern was just purchasing the home. However, the amount of additional (and ridiculous) documents needed, the fact that the home appraised for 15k less than the settled upon price (realistically it was 22k less as we "saved" 7k by using their lender), and the sense of lack to transparency was the most frustrating. Initially the gentleman that sold us our home had voiced we could speak to negotiating the price as well as small features to be included such as blinds and a gas range for the home. Once we decided to negotiate (and they knew we were interested) that changed very quickly to an all or nothing mentality. Ultimately we decided to go through with the purchase price with small features being added in (mainly just blinds). One the appraisal had come through and we were 15k under the asking price, a VP conferenced into the phone and was the epitome of a shady salesman. From the sale of our previous home, we were wanting to put 20% down to avoid PMI, however when the home doesn't appraise the bank won't loan you the full amount so our 20 percent turned into 17%. The gentleman voiced nothing would change to our down payment or our monthly payment so it would be a wash and they would pick up the PMI payment on our behalf as it was "important for the first model to sell high". That is an exact quote. What they failed to mention was that while our monthly and down payment wouldn't change, that 15k was going straight into their pocket and while I knew this is what was happening I wanted to see if he would come out and voice it to us, or if he would hope we didn't have the understanding to see what was going on. Because we did we were going to walk on the property and days later the builder's rep did call us to apologize for the interaction and stated they would meet us halfway. Considering the sales of our home would cause more stress, we decided to go through with it. The mortgage company asked for document after document that we never would have needed through our old lender, and the most frustrating part was having 5 people reaching out to us for documents and then asking the account manager questions about the docs, and them not having any idea who or why they were asking. Lastly, upon the closing documents of our home were to be signed, we signed them based on the agreement we made with the re-negotiated price point and once we went to pick up keys for our home, that closing costs were changed again so we were asked to sign documents once again prior to receiving keys. This led to another few phone calls for that to be resolved. Please remember for the folks reading this review and considering to purchase a new built home, most closing costs go right into the builders pocket (that's why they can waive so much up front) and they are the HOA. This The home itself is really nice and the only issue I have with the quality of work is the paint being so cheaply done. Other than that it is the normal settling issues that are to be expected with a new-build home. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thanks for providing feedback on your recent experience, we are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the financing. We have sent your comments over to local team members so they can review, have a good weekend! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating K. Hovnanian® Homes - Make sure your floor is level and out door paint is not mix matching

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Joaquin H.
  • Victorville, CA
  • May 27, 2020

Make sure your floor is level and out door paint is not mix matching in area you might not see it right away. Make sure carpeta don’t have nails sticking out an hurt your foot. Make sure outdoor electrical outlets are working or not cover by stucco.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning, your comments have been sent to local representatives for review. Have a good day. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating KHOV Review

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Pedro R.
  • Woodbridge, VA
  • December 03, 2019

Have some problems with the house that could of been avoided if the workers pay attention to details. Problems such as leaking. The workers wants to build too fast to meet a death line even after I told them to take their time but to build a quality product. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Pedro - sorry to read that you experienced some leaking issues in your new home. If you continue to have any issues or need assistance please feel free to reach out at customercare@khov.com and we will pass along to the appropriate local representatives. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Should be better for the price!

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • David P.
  • Pasadena, TX
  • October 12, 2020

We have already had 4 issues with our ac unit , that STILL ISNT SOLVED and one problem with the plumbing. I understand some work is builders grade like paint, but for over $355K, I expected more from these basic systems.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning, and thank you for providing feedback. We apologize for the issues with your ac unit and have sent your comments to local representatives for their review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Home O.K., Title Co. Follow-up Not O.K.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 5

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Roberta L.
  • Lodi, CA
  • September 08, 2020

Title company has not sent closing papers to my mailing address. Have scanned info., contacted them, and no answer. Also Orange Coast Title delayed closing and cost extra time as they did not approve of my Trust although I have closed over 6 transactions in less than 2 years using first pages of my Trust to take title.. Also, I discovered and said that I paid extra for stainless Steel. Finally person told me they gave me black and would do stainless appliances later. I felt this was hidden from me and no one has contacted nor given info. about Stainless or getting credit back since I paid for it. I also paid for outlet at certain place in bathroom. Agent told someone it didn't matter where it was put, but it did matter to me. Most places would have that in writing rather than signed by me rather than agent misrepresenting what I wanted. Really surprised that company did not care enough about customer service to credit me back $100 . Also I was misled about inside insulation which cost over $900. However, if you are still reading, the floor plan is excellent, and I get many compliments on how much friends and family like this home. Wish you had Title Company that sends closing papers immediately and responds when I contact. 38 days now since I have closed. No closing papers. Concerned about check, plus I need certified closing papers. Not sure what your guidelines are, but I hope someone cares enough to follow up on problems. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Roberta - Thanks for taking time to provide feedback, we have sent your comments to local reps for review. Have a good day. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating K. Hovnanian® Homes - Do not trust them when they say their home inspector is top notch.

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Anonymous
  • Ranson, WV
  • July 28, 2020

Do not trust them when they say their home inspector is top notch. We have found a lot of issues since moving in. A lot due to poor workmanship and no quality control on the work being done. That said they are super responsive to issues which arise and work to fix it. But it’s a headache that should have been taken care of before hand. In closing, hire your own realtor to help you and no matter what get a home inspector. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent experience, we have sent your comments to local representatives for review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating You get what you pay for

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Merced, CA
  • July 28, 2020

I just moved in a brand new home. Can't walk around bare foot because you always step on nails from the carpet installation. There "lifetime flooring" has lifted like swollen pieces in every room. You can see the tapping all across the walls in every room. Everything from the fixtures to the wood fence outside is the cheapest material you can find. So if your trying to purchase new to avoid fixing things. This is not it. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, we have sent your comments to local representatives for review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Quality control

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Casa Grande, AZ
  • January 09, 2020

There is a definate lack of quality control during the handover to the owner. It is clear that during the build all trash, excess nails, wires, screws are just swept into the backyard and burried. The features are not well thought out do not work well with all models. Some features do NOT have professional planning involved, it seems they where options to raise the overall purchase price. Every container of paint left was open and unsealed. Many minor details that lead to a long lasting easy to maintain home are overlooked or not an option. The finance company associated with KHOV should be audited and does not follow proper protocol. The floor is very nice. Cabinets are worth the upgraded stain. The neighborhood here has a good vibe and the abjacent open desert is nice for walks. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, we are sorry to hear that you are not pleased with our quality control process. If you continue to have any issues please feel free to contact us at customercare@khov.com with your information and we can pass along to your local team members. Thank you! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Dead Bermuda grass.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Grace U.
  • Richmond, TX
  • August 26, 2020

Since the house sat unoccupied for a minute, the grass behind died. They replaced the back grass but didn't replace the grass infant and behind. House was fine but I moved in with horrible grass. Called and messaged the construction manager a couple of times after he promised to replace the side grass but hasn't. Even the front grass didn't look attractive at all. Now I am stuck with dead grass on the sides of my house and horrible grass in front. Sales guy was the best tho. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Morning Grace - sorry to hear that you had some issues with your landscaping. We have sent your comments to the local team for their review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Lack of communication

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Alvin, TX
  • August 20, 2020

The sales team had little to no communication, all people involved were lazy and not willing to address issues in a timely manner if at all. No important details were communicated to the buyer

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Sorry to hear that you did not have a great experience while building your new home and felt there was a lack of communication. We are sending your comments to the local team for review, have a great day! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Very disappointed in the finishing touches of the house

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Keith B.
  • Plumas Lake, CA
  • August 12, 2020

We are very disappointed with the overall finishing touches of the house. In our walkthrough we noticed the interior of the house had to be almost entirely repainted. You could see the paint roller marks where they tried to touch up the paint. On our final walkthrough we noticed the paint was better but that the paint bled onto the baseboards, windows frames and the ceiling. There was also a lot of paint splatter on the white tiles. We were told the house was going to be cleaned before we moved in but we have had to scrape paint off of the floors in multiple areas and under the cooktop the cabinets have caulking stuck to them. The baseboards around the kitchen island are coming off as well as the trim. It looks like the house was not professionally painted. The door frames on the bottom in the bathrooms are splintered and should not have been installed. We have a work order in for all of these items and have not heard back in multiple weeks regarding an update. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent experience. We are sorry that you are disappointed in the finishing touches, and have sent your comments to the local team for their review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Find another Mortgage Lender

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Cypress, TX
  • July 28, 2020

The contracted builder for this home was fantastic, however the mortgage side for this company is horrible. KHOV Mortgage forces buyers to use their own 3rd party resources. The company’s representatives do not respond or handle matters diligently. It is so hard and frustrating to get into contact with anyone in this company. Please do not use this company. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Thank you for providing feedback, we have sent your comments to local team members for review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Frustrated

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Dickinson, TX
  • June 02, 2020

Run around on getting issues corrected in a timely manner. If the home owner does not follow up multiple times nothing happens. Even then the odds of getting if fix are low. Half the time they pawn you off on the sub-contractors.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that you are frustrated with your experience, and have sent your comments to local representatives for their review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Very disapointing

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Naomi C.
  • Dickinson, TX
  • May 28, 2020

I was very disappointed in my experience with K Hovnanian homes. As a single mother, I chose K Hovnanian above other builders as I believed they had superior workmanship. During the building process, several issues arose, none of which were dealt with in a satisfactory manner. Each time I was pacified with a promise to look into the issues, then when I followed up several times later, I would be told that it was now too late in the process. Some examples were: - The kitchen Island was in the wrong location, 4 inches too close to the wall where the stove is located, when I asked for it to be moved, 2 inches was cut from the island base. - During the pre-cover meeting, I arrived at the house to find they had started to install the sheetrock and all the walls were half covered. - One of the electrical outlets in the master bedroom was in a location that when the bed is in place, the outlet is not accessible. I asked several times for it to be moved before the sheetrock was installed. After much pushing, another outlet was moved, but not the one I requested. When the electrician moved the other outlet, it brought the electrical work out of code, so the builder then refused to move the outlet I had requested. - During the pre-cover meeting I pointed out the sound proofing was missing from the master bedroom, the builder assured me it would be installed before they finished the sheetrock. When I followed up a few days later, the sound proofing had not been installed. I asked for the sheetrock to be removed, the builder didn't respond to my text. When I followed up again, he told me the walls were finished and they would not remove the sheetrock. Instead they drilled 32 holes in the master bedroom sheetrock and pushed the insulation through the holes. - Most of the internal doors in the home are damaged and cut too short, they are all approx. 2 inches from the floor, so when a light is on outside the rooms. The entire rooms are lit up, making it very difficult for my children to sleep. - Several of the kitchen, bathroom and laundry room cabinets are damaged. - The master bathroom Mirror is not level - The joins on the base boards are not level, each join sticks out and is very unsightly, I mentioned this several times during walk throughs and with the builders, they just agreed with me and never fixed it. - The grout between the tiles in the foyer, second bathroom floor and shower, kitchen, master bathroom floor and shower, hallway to bedroom four all have holes. When I raised this issue, I was told they would leave grout for me to fix it. They only left one grout color, so I cannot fix the bathrooms. - The glass in the front door allows water to leak into the foyer, each time it rains I have a puddle of water on the floor at the front door. - When it rains, one side of my house has a river on the grass, which holds the water for days afterwards. At the time I purchased my home, they were building 6 other homes. Perhaps the rush to get the homes completed within the allotted 150 days from the foundation being poured, was a contributing factor to the poor workmanship in my home. However, paying almost $500K for a home that I walk around and see sub-standard work, is very frustrating and extremely disappointing. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent experience. We have sent your comments to local representatives for review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating I've witnessed Kids doing construction on homes.

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Missouri City, TX
  • May 12, 2020

I moved into my house during Covid and have been having work done since. The contractors are slopy and I've witnessed children working on the homes that are being built around me more that once. I feel the sloppiness of the contractors that KHOV are teaming with should be reconsidered. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thanks for taking time to provide feedback on your homebuilding experience. Your comments have been sent over to local representatives for their review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Frustrating

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Corey B.
  • Morristown, NJ
  • March 31, 2020

House was not ready when closed. VERY POOR WORKMANSHIP

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Corey - sorry that are not happy with the workmanship in your new home. We will send your comments over to local representatives for their review. Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Disappointed

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Rhonda P.
  • Pasadena, TX
  • March 10, 2020

More concerned with closing then getting it right

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thank you for providing feedback, we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your homebuilding experience. We are going to pass along your comments to the appropriate local team members for review. khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Review

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Roberto Q.
  • Rialto, CA
  • March 03, 2020

You can hear everything between the first and second stories, even others using the restrooms. There needs to be more sound barriers added between both floors. The back yards should come finished . That’s a lot of money to come up with after you just used a lot of money for the purchase . It’s should come in the price ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Thank you for providing feedback on your experience. We will be sending your comments over to local representatives for their review. khovnanianhomes ... More

Narrow Reviews by Area: