Century Communities

star-rating (605 reviews in all areas)

What Homeowners Have to Say About Century Communities

Century Communities has reputation for building quality new construction homes. Their satisfied homeowners give them an average rating of 3.8 stars for their beautiful floor plans and affordable upgrades, their skilled craftsmanship, and commitment to customer service on each house they build. You can read all of Century Communities’s 605 homeowner reviews to learn why they are the right team to build your new home.

3.8 out of 5 stars
in all areas

star-rating

605 Reviews - 118 Communities

5 ★(264)

4 ★(119)

3 ★(98)

2 ★(55)

1 ★(69)

Quality 3.7

Trustworthiness 3.8

Value 3.9

Responsiveness 3.6

star-rating First

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Leonardo D.
  • Austin, TX
  • February 27, 2020

I’m surprised with bad quality about windows. Some services are bad too, like garden sprinklers.

Century Communities responded:
Hello Leonardo, If you have concerns with your windows and sprinklers please submit a warranty claim at www.centurycommunities.com

star-rating Customer service could be better

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Houston, TX
  • January 22, 2020

They were not responsive to my concerns once I moved in

Century Communities responded:
Please go to www.centurycommunities.com web sight. go to the top of the page where it says homeowners, click on that tab and create a work order.

star-rating Century = Moderate Value

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Candice M.
  • Decatur, GA
  • January 14, 2020

My property is ok but I there are noticeable issues throughout the home. Unfortunately, I did not catch at closing. Ex. My cabinet doors were put on backwards.

Century Communities responded:
Candice -

Go to www.centurycommunities.com. look at the top where it says homeowners and fill out warranty request for a Customer Relations Manager to look at your concerns
... More

star-rating Over Promised and Under Delivered

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Buford, GA
  • January 14, 2020

Kept telling us things would be ready and they were not - could not get mail for 4 weeks due to their not doing what they should do with the post office and could not get Internet for 3 weeks yet they kept telling us it would not be a problem. They have fixed some f the issues but we have to keep reminding them. Employees are always nice but higher ups do not give them the real information. We like the house and floor plan but work was sloppy and paint used is terrible. ... More

star-rating First time homebuyers

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Indian Land, SC
  • January 14, 2020

Overall this community is a great place to live. Very quiet and safe. Lots of miscommunication between sales agent and buyer which have led to questions and concerns since moving in

Century Communities responded:
If it's concerns with yout home please go to www.centurycommunities.com
At the top of the paige it says homeowners click on the tab and open a work order

star-rating Meh. I have seen better quality homes...

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Midland, NC
  • January 07, 2020

We have only been in our house a few months (09/2019). For the most part most things are fine. I have already had to replace ~15 LED bulbs since moving in. I had to purchase and install toilet paper holder, towel holders in all three bathrooms. We had to purchase something to place our soap, shampoo and what not in other than setting it in the floor of the master shower. The back yard floods every time it rains. I have brought it up for warranty work a couple of months ago and they keep giving me an excuse why they have not gotten to it yet. For as much as I spent on this house there are the small things that are missing. ... More

star-rating House Buying

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Richard P.
  • Thornton, CO
  • January 07, 2020

House is well built. The few things that did come up during construction did cost us as the builder refused to make changes even at their own fault. The warranty issues have been slow to be resolved and are still waiting on some after 3 months.

star-rating If you enjoy cracked ceilings 4 months in, poor quality, and lots of issues Century is for you!

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Pintarelli R.
  • Las Vegas, NV
  • January 07, 2020

Oh where to begin? Ok first...how about the positive (since that's the much shorter list and the one I know Century and the customer service rep will be looking for first). We love the design and layout of our home. It is a beautiful LAYOUT and well thought out. We are very happy with THAT and feel it stands out versus the million other builder designs we looked at. Also, I DO have to say Century has been responsive to what feels like the 4 million issues we have had since we stepped foot through the door of our home in September 2019. Our Customer Service contact has been responsive and tried to work her best to accommodate us and our requests. We have been able to have an open line of communication and speak frankly when things have been good and when there have been SO many times when things have been bad. The worst of it is when we were spoken to like our requests were being completed in a way that was doing us a favor or we were accused of doing our own damage to the interior of home (seriously?)...which, um, hello, NO. We have a warranty and we paid hard earned money for this home and all those glorious defects came from your inadequate building crew. That said, it was addressed and Century customer service continues to be responsive time after time to all our issues. I do feel that is a big plus versus some of the reviews I've been reading about other builders. Also, our Sales Rep Bethann was PHENOMENAL and we adore her still (meaning we go visit her in the office just to say hi). She has been one of the only people to verbally apologize for all the issues we have had even though she has nothing to do with any of it. We purchased this home form 3000 miles away before we moved here and she texted us updates of photos ALL THE TIME. Amazing. Very vested in the work she does and the people she sells too. When something goes wrong, you can tell it truly matters to her. Also we’ve had one or two good quality service folks come for service calls like the tile guys and the heating and vent guys. So that’s the GOOD. Ready for the bad? The rush job Century did on this home is HORRIFYING. The quality and workmanship is laughable (though honestly, I wasn’t laughing, had me in tears more times than not). We have angles on walls that are NOT 90 degrees. How is that possible??? At first, in some instances, what we were thought as just cosmetic issues turned out to be BIGGER issues like when we noticed our loft level floor had a “slope” to it. Was it just the subfloor? Oh no....after they VIOLENTLY ripped back our brand new rug (damaging it, the walls, etc in the process and 8 people marched through our home like it was a construction site), turns out the construction company Century uses messed up and one of our supporting beams is NOT level with all the other beams causing a slope in that section of the second level. They had to bring in a structural engineer to make a recommendation as to how to remedy the subfloor. Yeah, HOW did the onsite construction manager not catch that, flag that, note that? I’ll tell you...RUSH JOB. That was just the beginning, now 6 months in we have major cracking going on in our loft ceiling from end to end, in our living room from end to end, which customer service keeps telling us “is normal”. I don’t care and don’t want to hear that...we spend all that money on a brand new home, we have friends over to show our pride and joy and then there are CRACKS everywhere. And on top of that, ideally, they want you to wait to the END of your warranty to fix them all. Ridiculous. So far we’ve had the painters here atleast 5-6 times to repaint over and over (which they do a poor job time and time again for the most part), the carpet on the entire second level has been replaced due to the sloped floor issue...which for some reason the way the carpet guy haphazardly put the rug down, the seam now appears in the MIDDLE of the loft where it wasn’t before to which we were told “it just needs to settle”. Seriously? It’s been two months. Guess what? There is still a raised seam. We’ve had the slider fixed twice because it is cheap, kept breaking and was letting dust and sand fly into our dining room. The front of the house elevation was finished wrong when we moved in because it turns out “they didn’t know how to do it”. Yeah you read that right. Happy to report they came back and fixed it speedily, properly and beautifully so I have to give them that. My husband has tried to reach out to the Customer Service Manager via email, snail mail and voicemail to discuss the white pop-out around the front door that is showed specifically in our elevation plan, which we signed off on and appears on another home IN OUR COMMUNITY but because it doesn’t appear on the models in the community the manager is basically sending random snail mail letters back to my husband passive aggressively and refusing to have a conversation with him about it. Oh, I could go on and on. Would we build with Century again...good Lord I don’t know who I would build with out here based on all the reviews I’ve read on all the builders. Century TRIES to fix the problems, I’ll give them that...but most of the time when they come to fix one thing, because of poor workmanship or the lack of respect their workers bring to the jobsite (aka YOUR HOME) they mess something else up. Century’s national office and management SERIOUSLY needs to take a close look at the way homes are being built out in Vegas because it’s just SAD. Do your research would be my advice. Talk to people that are living in the homes of where you are considering living and building with. We love the house, we do not love how it was built and our beyond disappointed with the lack of quality, care and reckless abandon with which they fly from home to home. Oh...and if the construction guys could stop FLYING through our gated North Las Vegas community and remember people live here...that’d be great too. ... More

star-rating Not bad, could be a lot better

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Kylie A.
  • Herriman, UT
  • December 18, 2019

Our experience with Century could have been a lot better. As we have lived in the home, we are noticing more and more areas of just poor workmanship and attention to detail. Some issues they are very quick to respond and other issues it takes them forever. Sometimes they are extremely professional and easy to work with, other times they throw tantrums and are impossible to work with. I do not trust Century and their superintendents. We have been lied to many times and cannot trust anything they say without it being in writing (and even then they go against their word). We love our house, but if we were to build again, we would not chose Century. ... More

Century Communities responded:
Kylie -
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We strive to make the experience a wonderful memorable time. Your feed back will help us train our people and improve the experience. We are happy you love your home.
... More

star-rating Good service!

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • James E.
  • Murfreesboro, TN
  • December 16, 2019

Buying a home with century community was a good experience. The quality of the home is outstanding, there’s creativity in the model selection and contractors did a good job! The issue that bothers me the most is the choice of grass and how it’s being tendered during the closing process. I only had grasses at the front but weeds on the side and at the back of the building. The closing process was a little stressful which was due to the fact that I was deployed at that time. Quite some reasonable discounts that were offered towards the closing cost which is relatively fair compare to what you could get elsewhere. ... More

Century Communities responded:
James, your feedback is helpful. We do strive to make your experience a wonderful one. We can take this and feed it back to the teams to learn from and strive to be better. ... More

star-rating Bad Management Responsive

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Hany Q.
  • Antioch, TN
  • November 21, 2019

There is no street lights it's too dark and risky at night, so bad Management Responsive for the issues, Nice design and good materials

Century Communities responded:
Hany,
Thank you for your review. It's currently being researching to see if street lights will be installed in the Keeneland Downs community.

star-rating Still waiting for "punch list" repairs

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Robert S.
  • Monument, CO
  • October 27, 2019

It has been 4.5 months since we have closed on our home. Since our first survey, 14 of the 16 items listed on the move-in inspection and orientation report have been completed thanks to John, the on site construction supervisor. He has been excellent to work with and assumed responsibility for the defects and repairs from the previous supervisors, Brian and Scott. Also, we have been pleased with the workmanship and tradesmen who have completed the 14 items. However, two of the "bigger" items still have not been completed. For instance, over two weeks ago, the decorative tile in the master shower was repaired/replaced for the third time, which entailed the shower door being removed. We were informed that the following week, on Tuesday, October 15, someone would come back and reinstall the shower door--that has not occurred. On October 18, a call was placed to the office regarding this matter, with promises that the supervisors would be informed. As of 10/27 and after over four months, the master shower STILL CANNOT BE USED. The second issue which was also to be addressed on Tuesday, October 15 was the repairs on our damaged concrete in our driveway and garage. The cement trucks have been in our area of LOR nearly daily and it seems like the repairs could have been made during the past four months. It has, also, been frustrating when Century employees advise that work will be done on a particular time and date and NO ONE shows up after we, as homeowners, arrange to be present for these appointments. The above ratings are based on our experiences with Century thus far. ... More

star-rating LACK of RESPONSE to ISSUES!!

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Curtis H.
  • Riverdale, GA
  • October 12, 2019

I have had a problem with my grass before I moved in but was assured that it would grow! Once I closed on my home the grass still did not grow! I contacted the leasing office & was told with watering the grass would grow. Well for about a month we had monsoon rain & still no grass. I do believe that I received a bad batch of sod as SEVERAL of my neighbors moved in AFTER me & they have a great lawn. I have contacted them MULTIPLE times but my belief is that to them this is a non issue! I feel they no longer care because they already made the sale..... This is my 1st home purchase & what s/b a joyous occasion is NOT! I AM VERY UNHAPPY!!!!! ... More

star-rating Century Communities - Still waiting for exterior trim over window to be painted.

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Mark G.
  • Arvada, CO
  • September 24, 2019

Still waiting for exterior trim over window to be painted. Bathroom Floor was promised to be replaced. Instead it was patched Working with corporate on a closing was terrible. As a Broker for 40 years it was stunning how inept Century Corporate could be. Fortunately, One of the sales staff was very professional ,helpful and a pleasure to work with. All worked out despite the B.S. Now that there self created obstacles are behind us, all is good ... More

star-rating Review

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Samuel G.
  • Dacono, CO
  • September 03, 2019

Not happy with the ventilation system in my living room. Design defect!!!!!!!

star-rating A good house

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Joshua B.
  • Frederick, CO
  • September 03, 2019

Check the garage make site your car fits first the stairs are a issue in most garages and the depth is different between houses in the garage

Century Communities responded:
Joshua,

Thank you for your observation.

star-rating Century Communities - The craftsmanship is very suspect.

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Michael V.
  • Charlotte, NC
  • August 06, 2019

The craftsmanship is very suspect. I have a lot of concerns with the quality of the house going forward. Nothing in the house is square or level but I will say they have been responsive in fixing issues as my wife.

Century Communities responded:
Thank you Michael for your feed back. Please keep in touch with your Century team if you have anything else that comes up.

star-rating Minor issues that have become Major headaches

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • John H.
  • Ripon, CA
  • June 26, 2019

Cabinet in kitchen still crooked after multiple attempts to fix. Solar was a major pain to get working.They installed the wires backward and didn't realize it until months later. Still waiting for driveway to be fixed. No communication when it will be fixed. The irrigation system is super complicated. Most of the homes in the in the Century Community have brown lawns. ... More

Century Communities responded:
Thank you for reaching out. We understand that our field team has scheduled an appointment w/ you on Monday, 7/1, to address each of your concerns.

star-rating Satisfied Customer - Jury Still Out

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Christopher P.
  • Las Vegas, NV
  • October 06, 2020

Prior to buying our first brand new home we have never heard of Century Communities. We did our research and did a lot of looking at their competitors. In the end we chose Century based on the price, location and what we found in our research as they seemed to be a good builder. It started off well but then became very stressful about 3 months into the building process. Let me start with the good: 1. Sales and loan team were great and had zero issues with anyone! 2. Working with the Design Center was a great experience. Lots of options to really customize your house and make it your own. Have to say though some of the options are way overpriced and I was able to install myself for a fraction of the cost. 3. Customer service representative for warranty issues has been great and very responsive to our requests. Our requests have not been major as of yet but our rep has been on the issues and has taken care of them in a timely manner, very happy with him. 4. We love the house for the most part and price was right for the area. I would say architecturally the elevations are lacking but the floor plan made up for this as it had everything we were looking for. Nice open floor plan, lots of storage, and a huge master closet. Now the bad: 1. Superintendent is worthless. Will tell you if you need anything just to contact him, well if you do ask it for something he will ignore you, say no or just forget. Not exactly sure what he does when he "walks" the houses but I can tell you I was doing his job finding all kinds of issues during all stages of the construction. I won't even get started on the mold issue we had on most of the drywall that was installed. Make sure to visit during construction and all your options and additions are being done correctly! 2. During the process and the issues we had we just felt like a number to Century and that they just wanted us to go away. No apologizes for anyone on the issues, some of which were major we had during the building process. Again we just did not feel important they just wanted our money and to close on the house. 3. Lack of communication, we were told our closing date would in July. This changed to June and no one informed us until I asked if we were still on schedule for July, at this time we were informed it would be June a full month earlier than we were told. 4. Attention to detail is lacking! Some of our walkthrough issues were taken care mostly and other just patched over instead of being done correctly. Workmanship overall is not very good at all! 5. The day we received our keys we had to pick them up from the superintendent and not the sales office or anyone else from Century. Again we just felt like a number and it was no big deal because they need the house closed by the end of the fiscal year. Customer service in many areas is seriously lacking! At least attempt to make your customers feel appreciated after they just spent a lot of money on your product! 6. We had a couple of water leaks in the landscape irrigation but was told just adjust the watering clock and it will go away. Ok this is not my first house and I am handy around the house, I know when there is something wrong! I brought the issue up a couple of times with the same response. So I took it into my own hands and dug up the areas where the water was ponding.......well what did I find, two water leaks in the irrigation system! After I took pictures and put in a request the leaks were fixed within a day! Point is do not make your customers feel like they are wrong and at least look into the issue instead of giving a "solution" without investigating. 7. Make sure you know what options you added, whether structural or electrical! I cannot tell you how many times we had to remind the superintendent that things were missing or wrong! Would I recommend Century to friends or other people? Jury is still out on that one but based on what we went through and what seems like a lack of appreciation and customer service I would have to say NO at this time. I am just glad that I know what to look out for during the building process or we would not have received the keys to the house with our options we purchased. ... More

star-rating Jury is still out

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Curtis C.
  • Kerman, CA
  • September 09, 2020

Trying to resolve some quality issues. we will see if the services gets any better. as of now...not great

Century Communities responded:
Hello Curtis- thank you for sharing your experience. For follow up please go to www.centurycommunities.com at the top of the page is a tab that says homeowner. in their you can submit a warrantee claim and it will be logged in our system. ... More

star-rating Talks the talk but not-so-good walk

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • East Garrison, CA
  • July 17, 2020

The sales staff are excellent at providing information and facilitating the loan process once a home is reserved. The construction crews cut corners, used lower quality materials, and had to replace broken or incorrect parts in the house throughout the building process. The items identified during the final walk through were not all completely resolved 90 days after closing. Make sure you understand the homeowner association rules and restrictions. ... More

Century Communities responded:
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We strive to be the builder of choice in the industry but can fall short. We will take this experience and use it in our training. Communication-expectations and follow through. ... More

star-rating The guys told us that everything would be fixed. And things weren’t done. We have issues with front door which I told them about it. Considering we took a little bit more than six months to get the house a lot we’ve had a lot of issues with the house .

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Francisco Y.
  • Seguin, TX
  • July 07, 2020

Make sure u go over everything. We were so excited cause this was r first house that I didn’t really check everything. So make u inside and outside of the house

Century Communities responded:
Francisco- We apploigise for the delay on getting things done. We will share this experiance with the team. We strive to get better everyday and learn what we could've done better. As for the door. Please submit a work order to www.centurycommunities.com so we can schedule that with the finish carpenter. ... More

star-rating Not what we expected

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • John B.
  • Fresno, CA
  • July 02, 2020

We bought this home because of the Floorplan and Location and the Elevations. But, did not fo research on Century it self. This a over 4k home that has the qualities of a much lower price point home..need to put in alot of upgrades to bring up to a 400k standard such as lever door handles. It really basic stuff. That they went super cheap on. Please turn on the water in hall bathroom before buying. You can hear what sounds like a jet coming from the pipes..super embarrassing when company use that bath as the whole house can hear. Also no showers after 10pm it can be heard in the Master bathroom with the door closed across the house..very poor insulation. True we bought a spec home. We just expected higher quality.......apparently higher cost doesn't always mean higher quality. ... More

star-rating Century Communities - I got several problem badly.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Duk .
  • Lacey, WA
  • June 02, 2020

I got several problem badly. Septic pump broken and flood to front yard. Water leaking from ceiling but can't find the reason.

Century Communities responded:
Duk- please fill out a warranty request at www.centurycommunities.com. We have already forwarded this to the division as soon as we received it.

star-rating Great house, poor communication

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Smyrna, TN
  • March 31, 2020

The house is great, but we do not have a key to the mailbox so no mail. Some warranty claims have been pend for several weeks. Some builders park in middle of road so difficult to drive on the only road out.

Century Communities responded:
With all this uncertanty we are all going through and trades on orders to stay home (social distancing) we are handcufed. Once all of us get the green light we can schedual you. At that time please go to www.centurycommunities.com web page and fill out a service ticket.

We will talk to the team about the parking in the middle of the street as we can see that being a problem.
... More

Narrow Reviews by Area: